Women I Love: Crystal Renn

Welcome to the first edition of Women I Love. I discovered a lot of beautiful plus size women as a result of my tumblr and now I’m overflowing with girl crushes. What better place to showcase my lascivious ways than on my blog!

Introducing: Crystal Renn

I love Crystal Renn. I love her so much it borders on unhealthy.

To gather fodder for my tumblr, I started an online hunt for plus size models because I honestly didn’t know of any. Crystal Renn was the first one I found and I’m fairly certain that this was the first picture I saw:

Photobucket

Crystal Renn by Matt Jones

Which caused me to do something along the lines of this:

actual Frances may differ in size and appearance

Actual Frances may differ in size and appearance

Crystal Renn first attempted modelling at age 14 after being spotted by a model scout. However, the scout told her from the beginning that she would need to lose 10″ from her hips in order to be successful. Fighting against her natural body shape and the constant pressure to stay thin led to an eating disorder. Eventually she realised the toll it was taking on her body and she walked away from her job, recovered from her illness, got a new agent and started plus size modeling.

Photobucket

Crystal Renn in People 2006, showing her as a straight size model

Crystal Renn in the finale dress for Jean-Paul Gaultier prêt-à-porter S/S06

She looks like a goddess. Sigh.

She also has a book coming out in a few months detailing her own experience with self-esteem and body image. While I am of the opinion that 23 is a wee bit young for a memoir, I’m still looking forward to its release. Watch this space for the review when September rolls around.

Anyway, that’s enough biography. It’s time to perve:

Photobucket

Crystal Renn for Torrid

Photobucket

Crystal Renn in Elle Canada, January 2009

Photobucket

Crystal Renn for Anna Scholz S/S05

Crystal Renn in La VanGuardia, Spain

Photobucket

Crystal Renn by Steven Meisel in Vogue US, April 2004

Photobucket

Crystal Renn by Steven Meisel in Vanity Fair Italy, March 2004

Photobucket

Crystal Renn by Ruvan Afandor in Elle Italia, December 2008

Photobucket

Crystal Renn by Ruven Afanador for Nordstrom and Harper's Bazaar

22 Responses to “Women I Love: Crystal Renn”


  1. 1 ViktoryiaN 7 July, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    Well, thnx for sharing!
    I didn´t know much about plus-size models. But it´s great to know that full-bodied bodied women are appriciated in the fashion world! Crystal Renn is beautiful! :)

  2. 3 Amy 8 July, 2009 at 12:34 am

    Thank you, thank you, thank you for posting about her! Crystal Renn is my absolute favorite model, and body acceptance role model. Yay! :)

  3. 4 PurpleGirl 8 July, 2009 at 5:54 am

    I absolutely love her! I used to work at Lane Bryant, and we had a huge Seven7 poster with her. I used to just stare at it.

  4. 7 Patsy Nevins 8 July, 2009 at 9:38 am

    She is a beautiful young woman & looks much better larger, but 5’9″, 165 pounds is not fat…except in the world of plus size modeling. She looks like a normal, healthy 23-year-old girl who has the good sense to eat a square meal on a regular basis.

  5. 8 Casual Cutie 8 July, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    wow…i never heard about Crystal Renn plus model before. she’s so sexy and hot. she looks so beautifull and gorgeous even with a big body. yeeyyy..Big Body are sexy!!!!

    ps : i love your site!!!!!

  6. 9 grimmscreed 9 July, 2009 at 1:03 am

    She’s beautiful! But I find it somewhat disheartening that she is considered “plus-sized.”

  7. 10 Weesha 10 July, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    haha ure hilarous but I don’t blame you for going gaga over her, she’s just beautiful!

  8. 12 Karen 26 July, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    Thank you for this terrific post.

    Tere’s a fine collection of her images at:

    http://www.judgmentofparis.com/crystal.htm

    • 13 Frances 27 July, 2009 at 12:17 am

      You’re welcome!

      I’ve been on the Judgment of Paris website – that’s where a got a lot of my tumblr images.

      I have so many pictures of Crystal, I think I’m going to have to do a follow-up post on her soon….

  9. 18 Ruby 19 October, 2009 at 4:22 am

    She is SO SO SO SO SO pretty !
    Elle Italia series is amazing.

    As Beth Ditto, she’s a proof that plump girls can be gorgeous!

  10. 19 Chloe 27 January, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    Crystal Renn is made of awesome.

    There’s one point I must dispute, though: that 23 is “too young” to write a memoir. She may be young, but if she has enough about the subject matter (being “plus-sized”, and her personal experience with the fashion industry versus the self-esteem of women), I’d say she’s more than qualified to write a memoir.

    I’m 20, myself, and yet I’ve had enough happen to me in a very particular area (that is, the effects of premature sexuality on a young girl’s life and psyche) that I feel more than qualified to write about it — and I am, in fact, working on a memoir of my own. The thing a lot of people seem to forget is that memoirs and autobiographies are not always the same thing (though in each category, there will always be some crossover). If that WERE true, only people of “significance” would ever write about their lives, and most of the authors of these books would need to meet an age requirement first.


  1. 1 I Heart Peanut Butter » Blog Archive » The Use of Models- Not a Size 2. Trackback on 12 February, 2010 at 3:47 am

Leave a Reply

No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 181 other followers

