A Good Week for Me and My Mailbox

Lord, how I love online shopping.

A couple of weeks ago, I discovered that I’d paid my last credit card bill twice, so I had an extra few hundred dollars to spend frivolously. And spend frivolously I did! This week I’ve been coming home to discover happy little packages waiting for me in my mailbox.

First came this:

Photobucket

The Boys #32 by Garth Ennis and Darrick Robertson

The Boys is one of my faaaaavourite comic books. It’s about time y’all found out that I am a bit of a comic book nerd. Other favourites of mine include The Punisher, Sin City, Preacher and Hitman.

A couple of days later, the postie brought me this:

Photobucket

Health at Every Size by Linda Bacon

This was more of an educational purchase than something fun. I figure if I’m going to do this fat blogging thing I have to know what I’m talking about. That said, I am really looking forward to reading this.

Finally, these babies turned up yesterday:

Photobucket
Happy Frances is happy

My Beth Ditto leggings were a present from me to me. As you can see, I am chuffed to bits!

As Deena mentioned in her post, these are brilliant leggings. They have been cut and sewn like a pair of pants, so they actually fit my thighs and arse (o, happy day!). The huge double-layered waistband almost comes up to my boobs, eliminating the severe muffin-top I usually get from leggings and tights. They’re also spectacularly garish which is right up my alley. I bought a size 18 and they fit perfectly.

Now I just have to find the right mini-dress or tunic to wear with them. A mate of mine is abandoning me for European adventures and is having a farewell party this Saturday (hi Liam!). Methinks it will be the perfect opportunity to bust these babies out in public.

My credit card is still in credit so I think I’m due for another order from We Love Colors

12 Responses to “A Good Week for Me and My Mailbox”


  1. 1 Deena 21 July, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    Comic books! I would never have thunk it. Do you have any action figures? I want a Bumblebee transformer figure but I would have to hide it from visitors. I already get enough questions about my toy new york yellow cab. I don’t PLAY with it, its just there cause I like it.

    I placed my first ever order with We Love Colors yesterday and I am so excited at the prospect of getting some brightly coloured tights that actually come up to my waist- they had better not let me down!

    You look great in the dominoes and superhappy!

    • 2 Frances 21 July, 2009 at 8:31 pm

      I’ve got a Batman action figure and a figurine of the wrestler The Hurricane, because I also used to be a big fan of WWF wrestling! I blame my big brother for all my boyish pursuits.

      That super cheesy grin is the exact face I had when I put on my leggings. Then I showed my mum and she laughed at me. She’s equally amused and horrified by my taste in clothes.

  2. 3 Patsy Nevins 21 July, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    You look adorable & happy in your leggings. I hope that you enjoy all your purchases. By all means, be loud & proud of loving comic books, action figures, or whatever. I will be 60 years old in about 7 weeks & I enjoy a good comic book, I love stuffed dragons (well, I also love reading fantasy), I am more likely to read children’s fiction than most adult fiction), I wear t-shirts from Disney or Harry Potter a lot, & most of the time I would much rather watch animation (Kim Possible, Rugrats, All Grown Up, The Wild Thornberrys, or good animated films) than live action tv or movies (Harry Potter movies being a notable exception). I grant you that growing up with abusive parents robbed me of much of my childhood, so I am enjoying my childhood now, but I don’t apologize for my tastes & interests. If anyone considers me a geek, nerd, dork, I proudly answer to the name.

    Have fun with what you love & with spending unexpected money. Life is too short not to.

  3. 4 Rachel 22 July, 2009 at 1:58 am

    Those leggings look awesome. You have great legs and your cheesy grin makes me want a pair.

    Lol

  4. 5 Bianca 22 July, 2009 at 2:59 am

    I’m loving the leggings on you. So cute!

  5. 6 Weesha 23 July, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    You look freakin’ awesome!! a little off top but I love your hair :)

    • 7 Frances 23 July, 2009 at 2:55 pm

      My hair and I only started getting along a couple of years ago – it took me YEARS to find a good hairdresser and good hair products!

  6. 8 Weesha 23 July, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    uff, i meant to say a little off topic*

  7. 9 Nina (Nina on Everything) 25 July, 2009 at 2:15 am

    I have been wanting to read “Healthy at Every Size!” Please keep us updated on what you think of it. Anyone who has such amazing taste in leggings is someone who’s opinion I would like to keep tabs on. ;)

  8. 11 J.R. LeMar 14 May, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    I tried The Boys, but just can’t get into it. I bought the first few issues when it first came out on DC, and then a bought a couple of issues last year. I don’t recall the issue #’s, but it was the one where the comic-book writer was telling Wee Hughie about how the supers got started, with Vaught-American, and how they screwed up the rescue plan on 9/11. It’s an interesting idea, but ultimately it just feels a little too hateful like me. Like Ennis is just writing it to show how much he REALLY hates superheroes.

    What other comics do you read?

    • 12 Frances 14 May, 2010 at 5:25 pm

      Ehhh, The Boys is going downhill. I loved it at the start, but the series is more than halfway through and it still feels like it’s going nowhere. It’s really disappointing, as I thought it would be a series to rival the awesomeness of Preacher (oh how I love Preacher – I can read that series over and over again).

      Garth Ennis is my favourite writer – I think I like his over-the-top violence and humour. I love his issues of The Punisher. I bought all of Crossed but I don’t think I’ll ever read that again (because there’s absolutely no humour). I also love Sin City and the Watchmen.

      As for current series, I’m really liking 28 Days Later.


Comments are currently closed.



No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

