Staying Thin, Jessica-Biel-style

This week, I read about one of Jessica Biel’s strategies for staying thin:

“You have to find a balance, especially with what you eat. I don’t live by the idea that you can’t allow yourself a treat,” she said.

“I say, ‘Eat things you like, but eat them in smaller portions’. I always cut things in half and send them back. I’m not perfect, I don’t always do those things, but that’s the goal.”

Fine. That’s fine. If Jessica Biel thinks that eating half is ‘allowing herself a treat’, that is her choice.

But that’s pretty wasteful. I mean, if she’s only eating half her cheese soufflé or half her pavlova, then that’s a lot of very good food going in the bin. Good food that would be appreciated by someone else……….

Do you think that she’d let me follow her around and eat her leftovers? Because I would totally be up for it.

20 Responses to “Staying Thin, Jessica-Biel-style”


  1. 1 Natalie 26 July, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Screw eating her leftovers, Imma steal the whole plate.

    • 2 Frances 26 July, 2009 at 7:37 pm

      Right on. Biel-ster (which is what I would call her when I become her Leftover Assistant) wouldn’t appreciate it anyway.

  2. 3 correction 26 July, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    “If Jessica Biel thinks that eating half is ‘allowing herself a treat’, that is her choice.”

    That’s not actually what she said. First, she said that she allows herself treats. Then, in a separate sentence, she said she had a habit of eating half portions… don’t combine two separate statements to make an argument that you want to make. If the evidence isn’t there, don’t try to make it seem that it is.

  3. 6 32-P 27 July, 2009 at 12:02 am

    Actually, I always cut my restaurant order in half because I know for a fact I can never finish the gigantinormous portions (except at the really high-end places, which don’t serve enough food to cut in half). And then if I don’t finish it at the restaurant, I do feel wasteful. But then I take it home and eat it the next morning for breakfast.

    Maybe Jessica Biel doesn’t have a fridge…

  4. 7 tara 27 July, 2009 at 12:08 am

    I would love to have an obese follow me around and eat all of my leftovers! I would need a tuba player as well to provide them with some good walking/eating music but if I ever become very wealthy that sounds like a great way to waste some of it!

  5. 8 LivingTheQuestions 27 July, 2009 at 12:46 am

    I an a proud member of the size-acceptance movement, a large woman, and one who eats when she’s hungry and stops when she’s full, eating whatever it is that I’m hungry for.

    But often, I’m not hungry for the prearranged size that someone else has decided is one serving: those decisions about how big to make a scone, or how much pasta to pile on my plate, have nothing to do with my body. So, I often eat half of whatever I’ve ordered.

    It’s no more wasteful to send half back, or throw half out, than it is to eat what I’m not hungry for. My body is not a garbage can.

    The wastefulness is in the portion sizes, not in my decision to stop when I’ve had enough.

  6. 9 KarenElhyam 27 July, 2009 at 1:25 am

    Oh Tara, you are the most adorable of all trolls. “An obese.” Similarly, I’d love to invite you to follow me around everywhere I go so that when I need to insult people where they live for failing to live up to my perfectionist standards, I’ll have an expert!

    • 10 Frances 27 July, 2009 at 2:16 am

      I approved Tara because:
      1) I am “an obese”
      2) I like leftovers
      3) I like the tuba
      4) I like taking wealthy people’s money.

      So not one speck of her comment was insulting. It was entertaining, more than anything.

  7. 11 Twistie 27 July, 2009 at 2:06 am

    Oh look! It’s Tara the Troll! I haven’t seen her in weeks.

    Oh, and Tara? Obese is an adjective, not a noun.

    Utter grammar phail.

    Also, I have to second the concept that Jessica Biel has no refrigerator. Otherwise why not take the uneaten half home? Okay, not such a good idea with a souffle, but in most cases it’s just fine. It’s what I did with the half a quesadilla I didn’t eat last night. In fact, it was just a tasty and fulfilling breakfast.

    Should we take up a collection to buy Miss Biel a fridge? I can donate a few cents.

  8. 12 Godless Heathen 27 July, 2009 at 3:22 am

    Sometimes I only eat half of something. It never goes to waste because I give it to my hubby to finish. Actually, I do this a lot now that I’ve given myself permission not to “clean my plate”. I can totally see eating half of a yummy thing because I wanted it but didn’t want all of it.

    I’m still fat, though.

  9. 13 Electrogirl 27 July, 2009 at 4:07 am

    Sending good food back to the kitchen? That’s what doggy bags are for, Ms. Biel! Leftovers are awesome. They’re tasty food that requires nothing more than a round in the microwave, and some days I’m just too tired in the evening to cook. Especially if I’ve been studying until 8 or 9 PM and didn’t notice my body’s pleas for fuel due to intense concentration. (Funny, I thought “obeses” were hungry 24/7! I guess I don’t qualify for the Obese Club despite my size 18 pants.)

  10. 14 Bianca 27 July, 2009 at 4:45 am

    LivingTheQuestions, the lovely Ms Biel didn’t say she cut her portions in half because they were more than she could eat. She cuts them in half because it’s more that she will allow herself to eat.

    Which, in my hubmle opinion is sad.

  11. 15 Sarah 27 July, 2009 at 8:29 am

    Tara the troll can’t even be original!

    “An obese.” She stole that from the MySpace of the fictional character Borat. He describes his sidekick Azamat Bagatov as “a fat.”

    Following fat people around with a tuba – taken from Family Guy.

    Tara, truly pathetic. She has been trolling around FA sites for at least a year now. Probably has no life.

  12. 16 Mim 27 July, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    mmmmm pavlova

    i have an old dorm fridge, which was my dad’s dorm fridge in the 70s, gathering dust on my porch. think ms biel would like it? local pickup only though. it’s big enough to hold dinner leftovers for brunch, but small enough that she doesn’t have to worry about having enough food in it that she could become an obese like me.

  13. 17 agent58 27 July, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    She just should not buy as much, then she would not have leftovers. http://fiestamovement.com/agents/view/58

  14. 18 jackie 27 July, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    I’m not gonna join the either the “lets rag on the obese people train” or the “I’m fat and I love it” train, but does anyone else think sending food back to the kitchen is inexcusably rude? ESPECIALLY at fancy restaurant! I mean my god if I were the chef I’d be insulted…

  15. 19 frances 7 August, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    i love jessica biel. i like the fact that she can probably eat a slice of chocolate cake and leave the rest to me. not a problem, at all. being paid to eat jessica biel’s left overs … easiest job EVER.

  16. 20 Deborah-lee 13 September, 2009 at 9:44 am

    Jackie, I think sometimes though the chef insults US!! .. I have been with friends who want to send back dishes that I think are okay. It makes me wonder if I am just not fussy about what I eat! (maybe if I was a bit fussier I’d have room for more dessert *LOL*)

    As for Jessica Biel, there are times when I’ve not been able to finish my cake too.. but mostly because they give you so much or it’s so rich. Sometimes I think “what a waste” othertimes I must admit I think they’re going to think “ooh the fat girl didn’t eat all her cake.. good for her!”. I don’t think I’d want to eat other’s scraps though.. if Jessica is seriously going to eat bits of cake, she can come with me and have MY left overs.


Leave a Reply

No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 177 other followers

