My Very First OoTD

I’m jumping on the Outfit of the Day (OoTD) bandwagon! Hopefully this post will be the first of many (read: hopefully I can be arsed to keep this up).

Before anything else, I think I should introduce you to my style to give you a bit of context or something. My style has two very distinct and completely separate settings: casual and work.

Casual Frances is a mix of street, 80s and hip hop. I live in my denim (dark rinse jeans and shorts) and I wear a lot of bright men’s graphic tees; most of which get turned into singlets by my alterationist. I never ever wear heels; the most feminine my shoes get are ballet flats. What I love more than anything is my ever-growing collection of kicks:

Photobucket

My babies!

Work Frances is restricted by the sartorial expectations of the public sector (yep, I’m a government monkey). Most days I’m wearing some kind of black jersey dress and I keep things interesting with accessories: brightly coloured tights, kitsch brooches and chunky colourful resin jewellery.

Both Casual and Work Frances like to wear things that are bright, kitsch and eye-catching because both are great big show ponies who like attention. Both are no good at dressing for winter.

It’s surprisingly difficult putting my style into words; hopefully it will all emerge through my OoTDs.

Speaking of, here is what I wore to my mate’s farewell last weekend:

Photobucket

Nope, I've no idea what I'm doing with that left elbow either.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Oversized tshirt : Sportsgirl
Yellow bra (which is super duper visible because of the flash on my camera) : Mossimo
Leggings : Beth Ditto at Evans
Ballet flats : Witchery
Resin bangle : Dinosaur Designs – my favourite accessories brand of all time
Robot necklace : Electric Monkeys, Bondi Beach

28 Responses to “My Very First OoTD”


  1. 1 bri 28 July, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    You are so gorgeous! Your smile is just lovely (as is the rest of you!).

    I love seeing other people’s style. If I didn’t have history with an online stalker I would consider posting some of my own outfits. Maybe one day…

  2. 3 Miss Minx 28 July, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    Super-awesome shoe collection! I have a similar one of different kinds of Chuck Taylors.

    Also – ROBOTS RULE!!

  3. 4 Bianca 28 July, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    My daughter would CUT YOU for your shoe collection. You’d better hide it well.

  4. 5 Twistie 29 July, 2009 at 12:29 am

    Frances, I am totally coming over to steal your robot necklace. It’s that awesome.

  5. 7 Nina (Nina on Everything) 29 July, 2009 at 12:29 am

    Love your accessories and kicks! I want to see more!

    Also have I mentions how much I love your blog name? It’s so good.

  6. 8 Ray 29 July, 2009 at 1:12 am

    I am totally diggin’ your style, missus. My work and home clothes seem to have merged lately. Not sure if that’s good or bad, but I feel kind of lazy. You’ve insipred me to ‘own’ my style again. Thank you!!!

    The blog looks fantastic! Bravo, bravo! xxx

    • 9 Frances 29 July, 2009 at 10:24 am

      Thanks, Ray! xxx

      Sometimes I wish my casual and work styles aligned more than they do – it’d make things a bit easier. The day I get to wear my sneakers to work I will be dancing in the street.

  7. 10 Katie 29 July, 2009 at 1:24 am

    Your shoes are awesome! I never wear heels either.

  8. 11 Rebecca 29 July, 2009 at 1:54 am

    We have similar tastes in shoes. I knew that trend would hit the western countries eventually. Do you ever get shoes by “madfoot”? They’re really big here in japan

    I bought these a few months ago:

    • 12 Frances 29 July, 2009 at 10:22 am

      No, I don’t think we get Madfoot over here. It’s only a matter of time, though – we have an awesome sneaker shop here in Sydney (Espionage) that’s always trying to source new brands.

  9. 13 Sylvia 29 July, 2009 at 7:02 am

    Holy crap. I LOOOOORVEE that necklace!

    and you, my dear, are ADORABLE!

  10. 14 Weesha 29 July, 2009 at 8:19 am

    omg those shoes and that robot necklace- Killer!!

  11. 15 Sylvia 29 July, 2009 at 10:44 am

    hey lady! just wanted to let you know we added you to our blog roll! you are now officially cool!

    ;p

    -the zaftig chicks

  12. 17 Bianca 29 July, 2009 at 11:03 am

    I am all for a Twistie/Frances wrestling match, but it better involve ranch dressing.

  13. 21 Bianca 30 July, 2009 at 1:30 am

    I am more than happy to provide several different varieties of not only dressing, but lovely fried things to dip into said dressing.

  14. 23 Kia 31 July, 2009 at 2:36 am

    Looking hot Frances!!
    Sweet Kicks and I am utterly jealous of the tights. Swapsies sometime?

  15. 25 Ms Constantine 23 August, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    Be still my beating heart, you’re a sneaker chick too!
    There seem to be so few of us.

  16. 27 Mimmi 11 September, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    OOH!!

    I would adopt your babies anyday!!


Comments are currently closed.



No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

