Women I Love: Fluvia Lacerda

Fluvia Lacerda is one of those women with unreasonable bodies: the sex face, the thick hair, the cute belly, the killer hips.

Photobucket

Fluvia Lacerda by Lucas Pictures

So completely unreasonable.

Fluvia started modeling in 2003 when she was discovered by MODE Magazine on a New York City bus, of all places.

She also writes a magazine column in her native Brazil. In her own words:

I write about what I know, which is the struggles of being a full figured woman in a society (there in Brazil) where is difficult to find clothes, be accepted as a normal human being and so on. I hear plus size women in the US complaining about not being able to find pretty clothes that won’t make them look frumpy and unfashionable. Well, Brazilian plus size women don’t even have that option! It makes me cringe when I go there to see women either having clothes made because stores, in 90% of the cases, carry up to 44, which I think it’s equivalent to a US 12 (GASP!)- Or wearing clothes 2 or 3 sizes smaller, which is a complete NO, NO! It’s a market that still has a long way to go compared to most countries.

I hear ya, sister.

Photobucket

Fluvia Lacerda by Nikki Gomez

Because of this culture in Brazil and her success as a plus-sized model, Fluvia makes for a fabulous size acceptance advocate:

I know how they [plus-sized women] feel – society in Brazil makes you feel like wearing a size 16 jeans is a national crime. Most women have known nothing but negative criticism throughout their entire lives, from parents, school friends and even work colleagues. It’s the innocent suggestions of a new diet to a mentioning a new high tech plastic surgery procedure. Therefore they have yet to comprehend the meaning of being happy with yourself, regardless of your size. When I have the opportunity to do an interview in Brazil I always try to bring points such as, as long you have an active life, try to work out at least half an hour every day and eat healthier, you should be more concern with your happiness and health rather than beating yourself up for not carrying the genetics of a size zero women.

Also, she’s a babe. Let’s observe, shall we?

Photobucket

Fluvia Lacerda by Daigo Oliva/G1

Photobucket

I cannot remember where I got this from, but this picture is way too good to not post. It gets me right in the pants.

Photobucket

Fluvia Lacerda for Biluzik

Photobucket

Photobucket

Quotes sourced from Plus Model Magazine
All unsourced pictures are from Fluvia Lacerda’s online portfolio

13 Responses to “Women I Love: Fluvia Lacerda”


  1. 1 Ray 12 August, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    Crikey! She’s goooorgeous! Why aren’t we seeing more women like this in mainstream media and fashion? If we did I think the intense anxiety that so many women feel about their shape would vanish.

    I love this blog, Frances. You’re doing an excellent job. X

  2. 3 Catatonic Kid 12 August, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    Bloody oath she’s hot! Everything just *works*, including her brain. huzzah!

  3. 4 Alibelle 13 August, 2009 at 12:41 am

    Jesus, I’m straight, but I’m slightly turned on right now. She’s unbelievably beautiful.

  4. 5 Pretty Robotic 13 August, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    Love this post! & Adore this blog! Thank You! <3

  5. 6 Weesha 22 August, 2009 at 9:25 am

    girl crush all the way <3 <3 <3

  6. 7 Em 2 September, 2009 at 5:58 am

    Oh my God! She is just about the sexiest woman I’ve ever seen, she is one of those women that you look at, and as another woman you say – she is fabulous, you can’t help but smile when you see her.
    I hear men say that women are jealous of other women because they are more attractive, but that’s crap, I just don’t get why some women make men go loopy – Megan Fox? I don’t see it, Cheryl Cole, I totally get it…just saying

  7. 8 cibelly lacerda Pinheiro 5 June, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    AM her niece, (her sister daughter) she really is beautiful and am her fan to.

  8. 9 cibelly lacerda Pinheiro 5 June, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    And i agree with u guys She is very sexiest and beautiful woman, and totally fabulous, many women are jealous of her because she is more attractive, and is that crap, because just like her any person can and or beautiful in their own way…:)

  9. 10 Glyn Patterson 19 February, 2012 at 7:59 am

    She is a very beautiful woman! Sexy sexy sexy a total babe did I mention she was sexy!

  10. 11 Gidget Hrobowski 30 April, 2012 at 6:15 am

    Fluvia, you are so very, very beautiful…. because of you I have so much pride in myself. Before, I felt like I needed to lose weight to be considered attrative, now I’m finding that I feel heautiful at any size. Thank you so much. Indeed, we need more models like you who represent beauty and intelligence. Gidget Hrobowski

  11. 12 A Smith 31 December, 2013 at 3:43 am

    I’m a big girl too & I used to be so jealous of her…..she is so beautiful & fluffy but she doesn’t have the fat rolls on the side that most plus-size girls (like me) have. Then a graphic artist friend told me that she has them, but they are just airbrushed out. She’s still fabulous in my book, though!

  12. 13 lusciouswords 31 December, 2013 at 11:46 am

    I think she’s beautiful, sexy, and intelligent. I’ve been following her career and enjoying watching her successes.


Leave a Reply

No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

