What do you love about yourself?

Lilli at Frocks & Frou Frou, Sonya at No More Mumus and Natalie at Definatalie have started an online self-love trend, answering the question “What do you love about yourself?”

I think this is fabulous idea. 

I wasted my entire adolescence on low self-esteem, talking myself down and wishing that I looked nothing like me. I have had more than enough body hate bullshit for one lifetime. I am now rather arrogant and y’all should be too. Arrogance is a GOOD thing and, rather helpfully, it’s also really really fun!

What I love about myself:

  • I love my shamelessness. I’m outgoing and bawdy, I dance in public, and I wear loud clothing/accessories.
  • I love my skin. Thanks, Asian genes!
  • I love that I smile big, laugh easily, and that my laugh is a loud cackle.
  • I love my pot belly. Whenever my mum tells me to lose weight, I lift up my top and shake my belly at her. True story.
  • I love my butt. It’s big and proud and sticks out like a table.
  • I love my curly wurly hair.
  • I love that I am affectionate. I give awesome hugs.

Your turn! What do you love about yourself?

22 Responses to “What do you love about yourself?”


  1. 1 Natalie 25 August, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    You are so fancy, god we need some kind of internet secret handshake!

  2. 2 Cyn 25 August, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    Hahah that pot belly thing is an excellent idea for those of us with annoying Kool-Aid drinking mums. Thanks a lot. :D

    • 3 Frances 25 August, 2009 at 4:37 pm

      IT IS SO MUCH FUN. I do it every time she comments on my belly; you think she would’ve learnt by now. Mum occasionally gets a bit hysterical when I do it so I chase her around the house, shaking my exposed belly. Hilarious.

  3. 4 Twistie 25 August, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    I love my sense of humor, which ranges from the ribald to the refined and all stops in between. I can find the funny in nearly anything, which makes life much more entertaining.

    I love my ability to commune easily with cats and small children.

    I love that I make perfect pie crust every time.

    I love my facility with words, both written and spoken.

    I love that my singing voice is big, bold, and passionate.

    I love my willingness to choose what I really love over what’s expected.

  4. 5 The Sasquatch 25 August, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    I love that I can write novels that are read and enjoyed by many.

    I love that I’m confident enough to be kind and tolerant.

    I love my hair.

    I love my wide hips, they make me wanna dance.

    I love my height.

    I love that I care so profoundly and greatly for animals that it sometimes hurts.

    I love that I was smart enough to let go of the culturally embedded ideas of fat and health once presented with the evidence.

    I love my body. She has put up with so much from me and always does her best.

  5. 6 shutupmonica 25 August, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    Shaking your belly at your mom makes you my new hero. Seriously, that is such a delightful thought!

  6. 7 Sylvia 26 August, 2009 at 4:31 am

    I love that I cannot sing, but do so anyway.

    I love that I used to be a terrible dancer when I was younger and self-conscious, but am now an AWESOME dancer because I am no longer a dipshit!

    I love that I have an hour-glass shape.

    I love that I was a fat kid, despite everything negative that came with it.

  7. 8 Ashley 26 August, 2009 at 4:46 am

    1. I love being a good listener/shoulder to cry on.
    2. I love being comfortable in my own skin.
    3. I love my body.
    4. I love my “never give up” attitude.

  8. 9 Sonya 26 August, 2009 at 11:47 am

    Awwwwwwwwesome. :D :D

    I love your hair too!

    I love:

    - my new hair
    - my clothing
    - everything I wrote on my post. :p

  9. 10 Michelle @ A Shade of Gray 26 August, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    Hello! I found your blog a couple of nights ago via Googling Ashley Graham of all things! LOL

    I added you to my reader asap after reading a couple of posts. Great blog :-)

    Things I love about myself:
    My teeth
    My dimples
    My innate ability to nurture my girls
    My junk in the trunk (this mama won’t ever need padded knickers!):-)

  10. 11 hannah 26 August, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    You’re so fabulous!

    I love my stupid sense of humor. I love my soft, wavy hair. I love my straight teeth, and my pale skin. and I love my ability to inspire people and get them thinking.

  11. 12 Pretty Robotic 28 August, 2009 at 5:51 am

    i love this post! so great! perfect list, btw!
    i also love:
    my eyes, pale skin, tall stature, curvaceous-ness, and being a lovely lady (or robot rather).

  12. 13 Em 2 September, 2009 at 5:52 am

    I love that I’m really smart, and have a job that lets me be really smart.
    I love that I’m tough
    I love that I funny
    I love my magnificent rack

    I love that I’ve got a chance to say what I love about myself!

  13. 14 ipzy 4 September, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    I love being as organised as I am…
    I love my ability to smile at everyone…
    I love not being dependent on anyone…
    I love my eyes…
    I love my never-say-die attitude…
    …the list goes on & on…so much there is to love about one’s own self…

    Finally..I love the oppotunity to express my love about myself.
    Great going…& thanks a lot :)

  14. 15 KateF 8 September, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    I love that I can make friends easily

    I love that I can organise parties that have everyone going off

    I love that both times I got married I refused to diet to get slim for the “big day”

    I love the strength of my body

    I love that I understand much more than I let on to people

    I love my sense of humour

    I love my ability to prepare 3 course meals for 8 people with no fuss

    I love my creative talents

    I love that I attract such a high caliber of clever, and beautiful friends

    I love that I’m smart

    I love that I can walk away when winning the argument isn’t worth losing a friendship over and I don’t have to justify it to myself.

    I love that friendship to me is always more important than an argument.

    I love my craziness and my willingness to try anything new.

  15. 16 zmajeva 13 September, 2009 at 9:23 am

    I just drop by to tell you how happy made me this blog! Little revolution in my mind! All that pictures of beautiful and sexy women make me realize I’m beautiful and sexy too (I knew that, just forget it!). I’ll never say diet again! If we could find this pictures more in magazines and girls like that on tv, everything would be in harmony again. Thanks!

    Kiss!

  16. 17 Elean 19 September, 2009 at 5:48 am

    I love my boobs! And my boyfriend does too ;)

    I love my curves altogether

    I love my blue-greyish eyes

    I love my hair

    I love that I’m smart

    I love my creativity

    I love my smile

    -Greetings from Finland!

  17. 19 Ngenue !! 28 October, 2009 at 1:38 am

    I love that I can be very nerdy and geeky sometimes.
    I love that I can be stupid and really goofy.
    I love my loud laugh and my smile,
    I love that I love to Dance and that even though I can’t move as well as Beyonce… My attitude makes it a million times more fun.
    I love my body, I love my eyes, I love my thighs …. I love my hips and I love that my butt is not big.. I love my size 12 figure.. !!!
    I love that I love sports ..
    I love reading my non-fictional books and biographies
    I love that I am caring and affectionate …
    I love that sometimes i just need my space and i want to be alone..
    I love that I it takes many words to describe me .. because I am so unique..
    I love ME

  18. 20 DOMINIQUE 2 November, 2009 at 7:56 am

    i do the exact same thing to my mom.
    i lift my shirt and tell her “you want me to lose all this sexiness!”
    and rub my lovely belly!
    she laughs…sometimes. hahah

  19. 21 Asia Pearl 6 January, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    this is great! and is the perfect opportunity to tell a perfect stranger what i love about me:

    i love my very big heart.

    i love my hair.

    i love my torso and my little waist (best flat tummy ever! even when i gain weight! kaching!)

    i love that i am tall (6 feet!) but still have lots o’ curves. thanks, mom.

    i love that i am a really good photographer, and have a great eye for seeing the beauty in the world.

    i love my ass, stretch marks and all.

    i love my protectiveness, sassyness, and willingness to love, even when it hurts.

    i love that i am a big kid, and still watch cartoons DAILY.

    i love that i am spontaneous, and love to try new things!

    honestly, there’s a lot more where that came from….but i wouldn’t want to overwhelm you…thanks for the chance to show some love!!


  1. 1 What Do You Love About Yourself? « through the looking glass, and what Alex found there Trackback on 3 September, 2009 at 1:49 am

Leave a Reply

No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

