My new favourite website

Allen, Bedford Ave. (photo by Greg Speck)

Everyone should check out The Manfattan Project post-haste.

In the words of the moderator:

[The Manfattan Project is a] collection of photographs of stylish everyday people in New York City. These people are beautiful, they are well-dressed, they are confident. They are also, without apologies or contradictions, FAT.

Hana Malia, Union Square Farmer’s Market

I never realised how rarely I see the everyday street fashion of fat people until this site came along.

Jess, FIT.

Well, go on then. Clickety click your way over there.

10 Responses to “My new favourite website”


  1. 1 Ms Constantine 8 October, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Ooo I love Allen’s outfit! Gotta have tude to pull that off and she totally does.

  2. 3 lilli 8 October, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    Great find! The lack of curvy figures on Street Style blogs has always bugged me – I know The Satorialist weighed in on the issue saying ““When I am shooting on the street older women and larger size women often say ‘no’ to my request to shoot them…. I think they have a real suspicion about how the image will be used. I also think there continues to be a growing disconnect between the fashion community and ‘average’ women in general.” Personally i think we just need to see more of ths, so that it breaks down the divide between “plus” and so called “normal” size fashion.

  3. 4 Frankincensy 8 October, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    This is so great. I love street style, but so many blogs I would otherwise read feature mostly the thin to extremely thin, which is something of an ED trigger for me.

  4. 5 KateF 8 October, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    This should be added to you new favourite websites list ;-)

    http://loyalkng.com/2009/06/25/crazy-people-mc-hammer-pants-flash-mobs-hipster-store/

    Love

    Kate

    P.S. Yes, Crystal Renn rocked her harem pants … I am now looking for some … preferably with her still in them ;-)

  5. 6 KateF 8 October, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    Sorry, that video link no longer works

    try this one

    Love that there are some fatties in this video, our bodies were made for harem pants!

  6. 8 Ashley 9 October, 2009 at 1:40 am

    I’ll check it out. Those women looks great!

  7. 9 Rachel 9 October, 2009 at 4:05 am

    Great website! Thanks for linking to it.


Leave a Reply

No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 181 other followers

