Women I Love: Beth Ditto

I know, I know, I know. Every fat woman in the world loves Beth Ditto. But my love for her is still quite new, so I’m still very much in the honeymoon stage. Therefore, she gets a mention on my very exclusive, very prestigious, Women I Love section.

What I love more than anything – more than her brilliant songs with The Gossip, more than the line she did with Evans – is that she’s a chameleon.

She displays her body like it’s an artwork:

Modelling for House of Blue Eyes, September 2008

The Gossip performing at London’s Forum, 13 September 2007

At the 2007 NME Awards

She can be a fierce couture bish:

Love magazine, March 2009

At the 2009 Mercury Music Awards, London

Photo by Alice Hawkins

BlackBook by Shawn Mortensen, May 2009

BlackBook by Shawn Mortensen, May 2009

She’s friends with Jeremy Scott and looks great in his dresses (for this, I will be forever jealous):

via Jeremy Scott's Twicpic account

At the JC de Castelbajac Fashion Show during the 2009 Paris Fashion Week

Photo by zerbit on flickr

NYLON magazine, May (…or June) 2008

And she looks like she’s the sweetest girl in the world:

At the Love magazine launch, December 2008

LOVE YOU, BETH.

11 Responses to “Women I Love: Beth Ditto”


  1. 1 crookedfinger 19 November, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    Love you too!

    Oh, you meant the woman in the pictures. Nevermind.

  2. 3 sleepydumpling 19 November, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    You know, I’m a late starter with Beth Ditto too. At first I thought she was just a wacky fat lady that women loved simply because she wasn’t stick thin.

    But I saw an interview with her, which I have posted to my Tumblr, and my admiration for her really shot through the roof. She’s honest, sweet, down to earth, fun, confident and intelligent. And she rocks all her outfits with such confidence and style.

    • 4 Frances 20 November, 2009 at 8:48 am

      THAT’S EXACTLY WHAT HAPPENED TO ME. I was like, “Meh, fat chick in spandex. She’s like a circus freak to skinny people.” But then her music was so catchy, she’s hilarious and has that sweet as pie Southern accent. I was charmed.

  3. 6 Bethamint 20 November, 2009 at 12:49 am

    Wow, I thought I’d seen every pic in existence of Beth, but those Alice Hawkins ones are new to me. So beautiful!

    I never get sick of people loving on the Ditto, she’s my personal hero.

  4. 7 Jl3wis 20 November, 2009 at 1:54 am

    I mean absolutey no disrespect or trolliness when I say this, but she reminds me ALOT of Divine and I think Divine was waaay cool, IMO!!

  5. 9 crookedfinger 21 November, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    <3 Frances

    But seriously, though, Beth Ditto is the shit. I remember the first time I heard her music, I was like "Meh," but then a few months later I watched a video of her performing and I was totally sold. Such energy, such excitement, such curves!

  6. 10 Pyratus 25 November, 2009 at 8:29 am

    I’m also a late Ditto lover for the same reason that many others have posted! I’ve seen the Alice Hawkins pictures before but I’ve fallen in love with them again. I love her hair in them, she can present as totally energetic, confident and crazy or as a sophisticated southern belle. Lovely and beautiful woman who is rocking the fatshion industry and music one person at a time.

  7. 11 Me 6 December, 2009 at 9:46 am

    She’s so fucking cool.


Leave a Reply

No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 181 other followers

