Preview: Crystal Renn in V Magazine’s Size Issue

You may have heard that V Magazine is publishing a Size Issue, due out on 14 January 2010. There will be a number of spreads that will range from fully dressed to nude and will be shot by Terry Richardson, Bruce Weber and (lololol) Karl “No one wants to see curvy women” Lagerfeld. As editor-in-chief Stephen Gan put it, “Big, little, pint-size, plus-size — every body is beautiful. And this issue is out to prove it.”

Now Models.com and V Magazine are whetting our appetites big time by putting out an exclusive preview of Terry Richardson‘s shoot - One Size Fits All.

It is a brilliant concept, with straight size model Jacquelyn Jablonski and Crystal Renn wearing the exact same outfits and striking very similar poses. It’s a seriously clever dig at all those in the industry who feel that high fashion can only be presented on a smaller body.

Not to mention Mel Ottenberg’s styling is absolutely amazing. These outfits are exactly what I love: colour! prints! accessories! It’s almost too much, which is why it appeals to me.

For full size images, click here. For full size images of Jacquelyn and Crystal’s individual pictures, click here. All images are copyright V Magazine and respective photographers.

All images sourced from VMagazine.com. Thanks to Pippa at Runway Revolution for the tip-off!

23 Responses to “Preview: Crystal Renn in V Magazine’s Size Issue”


  1. 1 JeninCanada 22 December, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    Honestly, I can’t tell the difference between the two women AND I think the outfits are hideous. If this is what passes for high fashion nowadays I’m glad I don’t follow it one tiny bit. I’ll stick to my jeans and t-shirts.

    Yay for V magazine doing a ‘size’ issue though; at least its’ a step forward, even if I personally don’t like it.

    • 2 Frances 22 December, 2009 at 1:23 pm

      You can’t tell the difference between a size 2 and a size 12? Seriously?

    • 3 Lucy 24 December, 2009 at 1:15 pm

      *Compared* to the Harper’s Baazar Australia spread she appeared in this past May, (http://corpulent.wordpress.com/2009/07/01/crystal-renn-in-harpers-bazaar-australia-may-2009/) Renn looks positively emaciated in the V mag shoot.

      Comparing the Harper’s photographs to the V spread seems to illustrate one of two things: either Renn has lost a lot of weight, or the editors at V have done a lot of airbrushing. Neither of these situations fit particularly well into the body diversity, everyone-is-beautiful ideals that V looks to be promoting.

      Do you all think they airbrushed the heck out of her, or did she lose weight???

      • 4 Frances 24 December, 2009 at 4:12 pm

        Yes, I saw that written on the Newsweek article.

        For starters, I think it’s ridiculous to say she looks ‘positively emaciated’, no matter what you’re comparing her to. She clearly does not. And it’s a bit disrespectful to say that about someone who had an eating disorder and used to be actually emaciated.

        Models – and I’m quite sure this includes Crystal Renn – have been airbrushed to look bigger and smaller, depending on what the shoot requires.

        The topic of Renn looking smaller has been raised in comments on my blog before. Someone helpfully pointed out that this could be residual effects of her recovery. Fluctuating weight for a body that is recovering from a very serious disease that could have killed her is not uncommon. We should remember that and stop acting like she owes us an explanation for any change in size we have perceived.

  2. 5 JeninCanada 22 December, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    Maybe if they weren’t wearing such ridiculous outfits I could.

    • 6 JeninCanada 22 December, 2009 at 1:38 pm

      Ok, so I went back and took another VERY close look at the two models in the sets of pics, and yeah, they are remarkably similar looking. Other than meatier thighs and softer arms, Crystal looks almost exactly the same as Jacquelyn.

      • 7 Frances 22 December, 2009 at 2:26 pm

        But that’s precisely the point. They’re supposed to be remarkably similar.

        People in the fashion industry have said many things along the lines of “Clothes look better on straight size models”. Most people think there are things that larger women just cannot wear. These photographs shoot those ideas down in flames.

        In spite of her meaty thighs and soft arms, Crystal Renn is showing those clothes off just as well as Jacquelyn Jablonski (in my opinion, she’s actually doing a better job). These photos are proof that plus size models can do editorial spreads, can sell the garments, and can create the fashion fantasy. That’s what makes this spread so extraordinary.

  3. 9 kayla 22 December, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    I don’t know I wish I had the guts to walk out of the house like that. It’s fab. But that’s the effect Crystal has on me.

    Models should come in all shapes and sizes, they should look for the most talented people and let them be how ever they are.

  4. 10 Ms Constantine 22 December, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    While they look very similar I have to say Crystal is doing a far better job of showing off the clothes! The straight size model reminds me too much of a little girl, no curves, does nothing for the clothes at all.

    Crystal oozes sex with her curves and evocative positions, Jacquelyn simply doesn’t.

  5. 11 Moe 23 December, 2009 at 7:37 am

    Crystal always looks awesome but I think she looks a lot lighter than she has over the last few years.

  6. 12 CurveSmart 23 December, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    Thanks for downloading and not wreaking havoc on my bandwidth, Frances ;)

    Jablonski is on the cover of the new RUSSH and I think she’s very raw in terms of modelling ability – it’s no wonder people think Crystal is outdoing her.

    For those questioning actual size, I have to point out that Crystal (well, both of them) are very retouched. You can’t shoot a girl’s bikini area and not expect to do some clean up, so the fact that both girls have exactly the same all-over skin texture and tone, and very precise outlines with that short drop shadow effect around them, etc points points to major retouching.

    But I think the point is still made, regardless.

    • 13 Frances 23 December, 2009 at 8:38 pm

      Ohhhhh, you do passive aggressive so well! ;) Credit’s been added. Sorry for overlooking it before – I posted at end of a work day and my brain’s already on Chrissie holidays.

      Good point about Jablonski – everyone should remember that she is only 17. She’s the darling of the runway at the moment, but she still has a long way to go.

  7. 16 Patsy Nevins 24 December, 2009 at 4:22 am

    I have to say that I find the clothes ridiculous & I also do not think that Crystal Renn looks AT ALL ‘plus sized’. She looks like what I would consider a slim but not skinny, fit young woman, not recognizably ‘plus sized’ at all. She is beautiful, I agree, but putting her out there is not doing a damn thing for the image or reputation of real fat women; she is just showing what a fairly average-sized but noticeably taut, toned, fit, & certainly much prettier than average woman looks like in really ugly clothes. It is nothing that most actually fat women, especially those of us who are ordinary-looking & WELL past our 20′s, can identify with, point to, & say, “See? I can look that badly dressed too?”

    I too will stick with my jeans & tees & reserve my celebration for favorable publicity for actual fat women.

    • 17 Frances 24 December, 2009 at 4:15 pm

      Thanks for your comments about what constitutes ‘plus size’. That’s an important debate we should continue.

      However, I don’t understand your (and Jen’s) vitriol for the over-the-top styling in this shoot. You don’t like it, fine, that’s your prerogative. But remember where these shoots are from and who the audience is. People don’t buy fashion magazines to look at jeans and tees. If you want to look at women in sensible, wearable outfits go look at a catalogue.

  8. 18 Patsy Nevins 24 December, 2009 at 4:28 am

    I forgot to add that I have a daughter-in-law who is noticeably rounder & plumper than Ms. Renn & she wears 7′s & 8′s, so I seriously doubt that Ms. Renn IS an actual size 12…not that size 12 is large, by any measure except those of our insane thin-obsessed culture. I personally am getting very tired of fat women being condescended to & the fashion industry trying to placate us by showing us clothes modeled on women who range from size 8 to size 12, with perhaps the occasional token size 14 thrown in, then expecting us to be happy about it & to believe that those of us who are above a size 18 or so…in many cases, MUCH above…will look anything like those models. At least in catalogs such as Junonia & Making It Big, we still get to see plus size clothing on actual plus size women…in the case of MIB, even a few super-size women.

  9. 19 Patsy Nevins 25 December, 2009 at 12:34 am

    And you are right. I am not a fan of fashion or fashion magazines. I personally would never wear any of those clothes, but if someone else has the guts & the style to want to wear them & carry them off, that’s fine. For over 30 years, I have been working on fat liberation & one basic belief I have always held is that fat people should have access to every kind of clothing, every kind of fashion, which is available to thin people. What we buy & wear should be limited only by our tastes, desires, & our budget, not what those who make clothing ‘allow’ us to wear. However, I think you have to admit that someone like Crystal Renn can indeed find any kind of clothing she wants in her size very easily, something which is not true for actual plus size women. I can generally find what I want, but part of the reason is that I am not supersize; the other part is that I don’t WANT a lot.

    I do still & will always believe, though, that showing us that a very fit, toned, beautiful average-sized young woman can look good in clothing, especially in very air-brushed, photo-shopped pictures, does nothing to indicate to anyone that a woman who is a size 22 or larger looks good in those clothes. Ms. Renn has a healthy amount of flesh on her body compared to most high fashion models, but there are no lumps, bumps, or rolls of fat anywhere there. So even when women her size are modeling in catalogs which I receive & showing clothes I sometimes buy, they are still not showing what I will look like in those clothes, & I expect that is true for more than 30% of the women in the United States at least…that a beautiful young size 12 doesn’t reflect how clothes will look on US. Ms. Renn is a beautiful model & I am glad that she is able to enjoy success, though I agree with the person who commented that she seems a bit thinner in these photos than in some others you have shown. But her success & the so-called ‘plus size’ layouts some of the big fashion magazines have been doing lately doesn’t do a thing for actual fat people.

  10. 21 atchka 29 December, 2009 at 6:21 am

    Oh my gosh, I feel so stupid. I thought the woman on the left was Crystal Renn before she went plus-size. I’m so stupid!

    Peace,
    Shannon

  11. 22 Adrienne Lowe 7 January, 2010 at 4:18 am

    I effing love this shoot; thanks for giving it more publicity. My favorite part is how Renn wears the clothes so much better. She’s actually…sexy, voluptuous, full, delicious, realistic. Her size makes the clothes pop; they just look outrageous in an unfortunate way on the smaller lady. I’m not a high-fashion gal, but I totally love it.


  1. 1 Seeing Double « Pocket Rocket Trackback on 23 December, 2009 at 1:28 am

Leave a Reply

No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 181 other followers

