OoTD No. 4 – New Year’s Eve

I love New Year’s Eve in Sydney. We’re one of the first places in the world to see in the new year and, because it’s summer, I get to wear cute little dresses and strappy sandals. (Actually, last Thursday was a bit too tropical – it was so humid I ended up taking a fan with me so I didn’t end up drowning in a pool of my own sweat.)

As I’ve mentioned before, my three fashion loves are bright colours, loud prints and big accessories. I wanted my NYE outfit to combine all three and I decided to go for a square colour scheme.

Continuing the garden maintenance trend, the Boyfriend insisted I pose with the leaf vacuum.

Apologies for the wet hair. It didn't have time to dry before we left.


Dress: GRAB denim (This dress is magic. I bought it years ago when I was straight size and, thanks to the empire line and the incredibly stretchy fabric, it still fits.)
Necklace: Cupcakes and Mace
Bangle: Christmas present from the Boyfriend’s family
Sandals: Nu + Nan

After years of beachside parties and New Year’s Day festivals, the Boyfriend and I realised we were too old couldn’t be arsed with all that and decided to go out to dinner instead. We had three delicious courses and a beautiful bottle of pinot noir at Bayswater Brasserie in Kings Cross. I was so full afterwards that I thought I was going to explode. The Boyfriend found my wailing about my impending explosion very amusing.

OW, SO FULL.

We finished up our feast around 11pm and started a slow, winding meander to Potts Point to see the fireworks over Sydney Harbour. This meant we got to be thoroughly amused at the Kings Cross scenery and its wasted human detritus. It’s always fun seeing beautiful girls in beautiful clothes having their hair held back by their friends while they vomit into a gutter. It’s festive!

Yes it is, Kings Cross graffiti. Big fat ones.

We eventually made it down the end of Victoria Rd and rang in 2010 with a couple hundred others who had gathered to see the sky light up and watch Sydney Harbour Bridge explode. (Honestly, it’s like the fireworks technicians do their very best to blow up the Harbour Bridge every year.)

The fireworks looked more impressive than this, I swear. In person, they looked like this. (Thanks, youtube!)

This is the Boyfriend and I minutes into 2010. However, the Boyfriend wishes to remain anonymous so we’ve replaced him with Alexander Skarsgård aka Eric Northman from True Blood aka light of my life, fire of my loins.

Ohhhhhh, Alex *thrust*

Happy New Year, everyone. I hope your 2010 is filled with good times, good company and good food.

16 Responses to “OoTD No. 4 – New Year’s Eve”


  1. 1 Adrienne Lowe 8 January, 2010 at 1:05 am

    Wow! A wonderful post. thanks so much for sharing your life with all of us!

    Particularly, you inspire me to get to the other hemisphere for one New Year’s Eve in my life. I want to have the weather of our fourth of july festival to ring in a new year–not slush and yuck! It seems like one might have a better view of new year’s and the ability to keep resolutions if one could start the year off in precious little dresses and…precious little else. ;-)

    much peace, friend!
    adrienne

    • 2 Frances 8 January, 2010 at 1:15 am

      Yes, you definitely should! The biggest party night of the year deserves tropical weather.

      That said, I’d love to go north – I’m so intrigued by the idea of a white Christmas and New Year (especially since I’ve never seen snow).

  2. 3 Ashlee 8 January, 2010 at 1:32 am

    Hey! Just discovered your blog and I love it. I also love the dress you are wearing in this pic!

    I’m also a young plus size Aussie blogger (living in Indonesia at the moment) so it’s nice to see more of us out there :)

    Happy new year!

    • 4 Frances 8 January, 2010 at 1:08 pm

      Where abouts in Indonesia are you? My mum’s Indonesian – she’s Ambonese but lived in Palembang. Sadly, I don’t know any Indonesian except for “Saya mabuk” and “Saya cinta saya punda tetek”. That’s pretty much all I need, right?

      • 5 Ashlee 8 January, 2010 at 3:17 pm

        Jakarta. Haha you know very useful phrases!!! You’d be totally fine! Seriously, I couldn’t speak a word when I arrived, immersion does wonders. Though I’m still pretty terrible!!

  3. 6 AthleticHotGuy 8 January, 2010 at 3:12 am

    You don’t look too bad. You’re not really that fat. Cool!

  4. 9 Hanah 8 January, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    Hehe, Im from Norway, but living in Sydney so I’ve had both snow and sunshine….
    i must say that its not xmas without snow, but i do LOVE new years in the tropics!!
    you must go north for the snow and the northern lights, and one must come here for the sun, sea and hot surfer guys ;)

    • 10 Frances 8 January, 2010 at 1:14 pm

      Oh man, I would LOVE to see the northern lights. They’ve been on my to-do list for years.

      Ahhhhh Sydney’s surfer guys. The Bondi to Bronte walk is just one big perve for me.

  5. 11 Tina 10 January, 2010 at 1:30 am

    I love that dress. How I envy you, because you can celebrate the new year in summer. Over here it is too cold for such nice dresses…instead you walk in big winter boots through a mixture of snow and rain to your friend’s place and change into party shoes once you have arrived there. That is, if the heating works (we are having problems this year in my town). If it does not you just keep on your coat and boots

    Happy New Year to everybody.

    Tina.

  6. 12 grains de maniguette 13 January, 2010 at 3:16 am

    hej!!
    i just discovered your blog…and i like it!!!
    it’s sparkling!!! beautiful!! and funny!!!
    see you soon!!!
    kisses

  7. 13 Brittany 3 February, 2010 at 6:58 am

    aww, you are too cute! Love the dress, darlin’ you look gorgeous! Keep rockin’ the curves!
    http://vavoomvintage.blogspot.com/

  8. 15 julia 30 May, 2010 at 2:42 am

    this is probably one of my FAVOURITES of your outfits, maybe because i could see myself wearing it too. that dress is just lovely and amazing and i like the way you accessorize it with bold jewelry. really great.

  9. 16 maggsworld 2 January, 2011 at 11:32 am

    Great blog – glad to discover you. Will be back!!


Leave a Reply

No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 181 other followers

