OoTD No. 5 – All the colours

I really like jersey. This confession could be a bit unpopular in the fat community given how many horrendous plus size jersey items have been made for us. But I’ve always thought of that as far more a fault with the designer than an inherent flaw in the fabric. Jersey is comfortable, its stretch guarantees a good fit and I was convinced that it had the potential to be made into some seriously fun designs.

Enter Tennille McMillan. Tennille is the owner and designer of naKIMuli Inc, home to two labels: naKIMuli and Shanae. naKIMuli has a party vibe – modern styles in bright prints – while Shanae sells innovative basics. Tennille works almost exclusively with jersey and proves me right all over: jersey can be as fun and as exciting as you want it to be.

What makes me love Tennille even more is that she initially created straight size lines that offered custom clothing. When she started getting a lot of requests for plus sizes, she expanded her lines to include 1X to 3X. SEE, FASHION INDUSTRY, IT’S NOT THAT HARD.

Dress: Shanae
Bow: naKIMuli
Sandals: Nu + Nan

Inspired by the amazing style of Katie over at What Katie Wore, one of my goals for this year is to wear more colour. In keeping with this, I order the True Essence dress from Shanae in ‘yella’ and an absurd, oversized, over-patterned bow brooch from naKIMuli.

Shanae’s site states that most garments have a turnaround time of 10 business days. My package was shipped after 13 business days, which isn’t unreasonable considering she makes her dresses to order. Still, the anticipation damn near killed me.

But the dress is perfect. It’s comfy as heck, it’s well made, and its knee length means it’s actually rather neat and sensible.

When I first picked the dress up, it was a lot heavier than I expected. I soon realised that that was because there’s a helluva lot of fabric going on down there. Those panels I’m holding onto are gigantic pockets – you could smuggle a baby in those things.

(Speaking of babies, I’ve noticed that when I wear something this colourful children absolutely LOVE me. They look at me like I’m one of the members of Hi-5.)

The bow brooch is utter nonsense, but it is a lot of fun. It’s made from quite a light fabric and requires a couple of safety pins up the top to stop it from falling down and looking a bit deflated. Tiffany over at Fat Shopaholic demonstrated how you can wear it as a Gaga-esque hair bow, but I decided to use it to give Madonna – circa ‘Like a Virgin’ – a hair bow instead.

Amazing Madonna tshirt: The Cassette Society
Bow: naKIMuli
Bracelet: Mimco

(This tee is the perfect example of the oversized trend benefiting us fatties. I wear an Australian size 16. This top is a size 12 AND it’s got room to spare. Don’t be limited by the number on the tag, kids.)

23 Responses to “OoTD No. 5 – All the colours”


  1. 1 Tiffany 14 February, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    hey u must have bow one cause i have bow 2. You look great and I love that dress! Heres my bow and such! http://www.fatshopaholic.com/2010/02/naki-muli-and-shanae-clothing-review.html

  2. 3 Veronica 14 February, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    Wow, do I love that dress! And you look great in it! Seeing you in all those colors and that bow just made me smile, proving, I think, that *I* need to follow your example and wear more colors! (Any excuse to shop, apparently (= )

    • 4 Frances 15 February, 2010 at 8:44 pm

      Ha, I heard a few times from coworkers that this outfit was brightening their day.

      I totally support you spending your money on crazy bright clothes. I am an enabler.

  3. 5 p49it 15 February, 2010 at 3:34 am

    Frances, I like your yellow dress.

  4. 6 Adrienne Lowe 15 February, 2010 at 6:42 am

    There are not really words to describe how positively adorable and fabulous you look in that yella dress!!

  5. 7 christina 15 February, 2010 at 8:40 am

    aww you look so cute and fun! i was eyeing that bow just because it’s totally not something i’d wear but i love it anyway. i just may get it!

    • 8 Frances 15 February, 2010 at 9:11 am

      I know what you mean. The bow isn’t my usual style either – I ummed and ahhed over it for days. In the end I thought ‘why not?’ Fashion is supposed to be fun.

      I’m looking forward to the day I can wear it as an absurd clown-like bow tie. IT WILL HAPPEN.

  6. 9 Kiki 15 February, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    Oh my goodness! that dress looks amazing I am so going to lemming this dress.

  7. 11 Liam 15 February, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    I LOVE THAT BOW. I LOVE YOU. Come visit me soon, ‘kay?

  8. 12 Jenna 17 February, 2010 at 1:32 am

    I absolutely adore that bow!!! It looks like it should have come along with the dress.

  9. 13 Yesenia 18 February, 2010 at 7:32 am

    Amazing! The dress drapes beautifully and I love how you’re wearing that insane bow ^_^!

  10. 14 monster milkshake 18 February, 2010 at 10:23 am

    The bow looks great. I wouldn’t usually go for a yellow dress but I think you may have inspired me to take a similar plunge – there’s been far too much black in my wardrobe recently!

    • 15 Frances 19 February, 2010 at 10:59 am

      Thank you!

      I’m the opposite – yellow seems to be my go-to colour at the moment. In the last few months, I’ve bought two yellows dresses, a yellow jacket and a yellow sweater. I’ve already got a pile of yellow jewellery and accessories. I need to fall in love with a different colour…

  11. 16 LPS 23 February, 2010 at 9:36 am

    That dress is so cute! You really do look great in it. I’m not a big fan of large bows, but the way you put it together makes it look fantastic.

  12. 18 Narelle 26 February, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    I’ve just found your blog, woooo!
    Looooooooooove the dress, and those pockets! Wonderful.
    You look fantastic!

    Narelle

  13. 19 G 25 March, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    Ahhhh I freaking love all the colour and the bows. Don’t think I could pull off the bows but now I can’t wait for it to get a little warmer so I can do yellow… or maybe just do it anyway tomorrow.

    • 20 Frances 4 April, 2010 at 10:52 pm

      Definitely wear yellow as soon as possible! I’ve never understood why people wear such muted colours in the colder months – whenever the weather is bleak I want to see/wear colourful fashion that much more.

      • 21 G 5 April, 2010 at 7:17 pm

        Yeah, I never understood why it was that way either. In the winter, the shop windows are filled with blacks, greys and whites (with maybe a pop of red if you’re lucky). Like you need anything else to depress you. And god forbid wearing green nail polish in January. I did that a few months ago and my hands were literally getting odd looks at work.

  14. 22 sab 5 April, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    honey, you are not corpulent or fattie, you are a lovely healthy looking girl !


Leave a Reply

No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

