OoTD No. 6 – The Final Hurdle

I never wear bodycon. I’ve seen fat girls wearing bodycon clothing before and they looked fantastic, but I’ve always thought it was a style I could never rock.

You see, the way fat sits on my body means I have quite a noticeable pot belly. For something so chubby, it’s surprisingly firm and it sticks right out. Not only that, but the way my back arches means my belly always sticks out further than my boobs. Even though I shake my belly at my family and even though I say I love how I look, I never had the guts (yuk yuk) to wear something tight enough to put my stomach firmly on display.

This was my last hurdle to absolute body acceptance. Over the years, I had managed to embrace all the parts of my body I used to hate. I’m now very good friends with my thick thighs, proud arse, soft upper arms and double chin. But for some unknown reason, whenever clothing was stretched across my stomach, I always felt too exposed. Too imperfect. Too fat.

So when I saw a black, zippered, bodycon tunic in Target a couple of months ago, I had to buy it. I didn’t know when I’d be comfortable enough to wear it, but I knew that I had to get over this ridiculous body shame.

And I did.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Amazing purple framed glasses: Cutler and Gross
Tunic: Target
Domino brooch: A vintage store near Carnaby St in London
Leggings: Beth Ditto at Evans
Sneakers: Converse Lady Weapon from Asos

24 Responses to “OoTD No. 6 – The Final Hurdle”


  1. 1 Ms Constantine 19 April, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    Fuck Yeah!
    The more awesome gorgeous girls like you that show me they’re beautiful without covering up, the more confident I become. (especially seeing as what you’re wearing here is very similar to what I love in my wardrobe right now)

    And confidence is what it’s all about. I have a best friend who even though she dislikes a lot about her body I am pretty much in love with it. She fakes confidence very well and it’s hot.

    The shoulder detail on the tunic is amaze.

  2. 2 Adrienne 20 April, 2010 at 1:05 am

    YOU. Look. FAAAAAAAAAAHBULOUS.
    oh, em, gee. wow. adorable!!

  3. 3 LiteralGemini 20 April, 2010 at 1:07 am

    Congratulations on making that final step! That tunic is very cute and I love how the brooch and leggings match, how in the world did you manage to forsee that?

    I also have an issue with my belly that I am trying to get over, so you are giving me motivation!

    Cute look.

    Literalgemini.blogspot.com

    • 4 Frances 20 April, 2010 at 9:49 am

      The leggings came first – I bought them when the Beth Ditto collection came out last year. Then when I was shopping in London last month I found the domino brooch and immediately thought of wearing it with the leggings. I had to buy it!

  4. 5 eileen2000 20 April, 2010 at 2:47 am

    i love this. you look great and your confidence is inspiring. thanks for sharing

  5. 6 Papu Morgado 20 April, 2010 at 2:50 am

    Great tunic! Really beautiful and a big YAY for you!

    You rocked it! When we conquer the “right” to use whatever we want we feel free and we also help others feel free too!

    Way to go, you are beautiful!

  6. 7 Tina 20 April, 2010 at 3:04 am

    I rather like the way you look :-)

    Why should we hide our bodies? We are what we are, what is wrong with curves? Fat is not ugly, fat is just fat!

    (By the way: it is nice to have you back here)

  7. 8 elizabeth 20 April, 2010 at 7:18 am

    Beautiful and Hot! I have also more recently gotten into bodycon-esque clothes. It’s an exciting scary world!
    You look FANASTIC though!

  8. 9 Stranger 20 April, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    Hello Stranger,
    I like your blog. I thought you might be interested in this article.

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2010/apr/18/obesity-nutrition-weight-diversity

    Admiring from afar, Stranger.

  9. 11 lilacsigil 20 April, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    You look awesome!

    Is “bodycon” a contraction of “body conscious” or “body constricting” or something like that? I haven’t heard the term before.

  10. 13 LPSFashion 21 April, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    I think it looks great on you. The part that really makes the outfit is the smile, because when you’re confident and happy in what you’re wearing it makes all the difference in the world! I have a few fashion phobias that need to be hurdles also, and reading this post has helped me to move on them. THANK YOU!!!

  11. 14 Tiffany 21 April, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    I love the sneakers!…you look great!

    • 15 Frances 21 April, 2010 at 2:22 pm

      Thanks! Converse sneakers run pretty narrow and I have to cover my toes in band-aids when I wear these, but they’re sequin high tops. Nothing more fabulous.

  12. 16 Frances 21 April, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    Thank you so much, everyone! <3

  13. 17 Curlygirl 22 April, 2010 at 12:07 am

    I’ve been a quiet fan of your blog for a little while now, and have directed others to it. I just have to say you look absolutely gorgeous, Frances. You totally rock in that outfit.
    Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts and your spectacular taste with us.
    And thanks for giving me a shocking Crystal Renn fetish!!

  14. 19 sleepydumpling 24 April, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    My belly is the one bit of me that I struggle with too. It’s HUGE. No, I’m not exaggerating, it really is huge. But I’m learning to live with it. Bit by bit.

    Good on you with taking the leap.

  15. 20 erica 25 April, 2010 at 11:21 am

    You look awesome! Love this look! Rock it Beth Ditto style!

  16. 21 NikStar 30 April, 2010 at 2:03 am

    Bless your heart! I love that you just shared and opened up to us about what issues you have! I’ve came across your blog before and I’m baffled as to how it’s not on my blog roll!

    You are beautiful darling and I love the outfit!!! <3

  17. 22 vintagelover 8 May, 2010 at 6:15 am

    hey. I dont mean to be rude…but have you got any tests or scans done, cause your belly doesnt look flabby at all. I had a friend in high school who had a prominent pot belly but was average sized…for a long time. One vacation she finds out she had a ginormous ovarian cyst, and after surgery she didnt have much of a belly.

    Dont mean to scare you, but looking at this picture reminded me of her.

    Cool outfit btw.
    x

    • 23 Frances 8 May, 2010 at 4:40 pm

      I’ve never been tested for cysts because I’ve never had any symptoms that would indicate a cyst. My belly does squish and jiggle, it just holds its shape (and it strapped in by that bodycon tunic). My sister’s belly does the same thing when she puts on weight. Plus – like I said in my post – I’m swaybacked, which makes my belly that much more obvious.

  18. 24 julia 30 May, 2010 at 2:13 am

    you look amazing! great outfit.


Leave a Reply

No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 177 other followers

