OoTD No. 8 – A pox on your muted tones

Photobucket

After an unexpectedly long summer, it is finally starting to cool down in Sydney. This means that winter fashion has well and truly taken hold – my city has become a bland sea of black and grey.

I bloody hate that about fashion; the idea that brights are for the warmer months and muted tones are for the cooler months. It’s depressing enough that there’s a chill in the air, that the days are shorter and that my skin has become a dry scaly mess without me dressing like someone died. If anything, I need to see more colour to distract me from how long I have to wait until summer rolls around again.

A pox on your muted tones, winter collections. Shove this outfit up ya.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I have been waiting weeks for it to be cool enough to show you this amazing jacket from LA Vintage. I’ve been after an 80s leather cropped biker jacket for as long as I can remember and I finally have one in my pudgy little hands. I’ve mentioned my soft spot for cock rock before and this jacket screams early Mötley Crüe. Needless to say, I love it.

LA Vintage are the only online vintage retailer I’ve seen that offer a plus size section. (If anyone knows of any others, please tell me in the comments!) Unfortunately, it is for the inbetweenie rather than the deathfat; the bust, waist and hip measurements only go up to 50 inches. That said, they also have a fantastic accessories section and it’s impossible to be sized out of a super cute handbag.

Jacket: LA Vintage
Dress: French Connection
Tights: We Love Colors
Ring: Dinosaur Designs
Socks: Holeproof
Boots: Dr Martens

22 Responses to “OoTD No. 8 – A pox on your muted tones”


  1. 1 Veronica 16 May, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    I really like your outfit! Especially the leather jacket.
    I am so with you on wearing bright colors all year long. I had a lime green rain jacket, and the main reason I bought it was that when it rained (which it does with some frequency here in Norway), at least I would have that jacket to cheer me up. And I got so many compliments on it (from people with black or grey or navy rain coats).

  2. 4 Natalie 16 May, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    I need a jacket like that!! And those docs!!

  3. 5 Eli 16 May, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    Hola!

    I was in the Rocks Friday night and saw you in this outfit!!! My friend was driving and I was like, whoa, I recognise that girl from the internet!

    The colours are even more fabulous when I can see it all on pause. :)

    • 6 Frances 16 May, 2010 at 11:08 pm

      Ahhhhh! No way! I feel so famous.

      I had a late night pancake craving, so when you saw me I was either dragging the Boyfriend and his mates to or from Pancakes on the Rocks.

  4. 7 spuffyduds 17 May, 2010 at 5:26 am

    Dude I *COVET* those Docs.

  5. 8 Kiki 17 May, 2010 at 6:45 am

    hawt as always! I must admit I am ne of those grey Sydneysiders ruining your day (I make the realisation every May that I have no colourful winter stock) but if I had those boots and dress I would be wearing them everyday.

    • 9 Frances 17 May, 2010 at 11:56 am

      Well, it’s not like Sydney stores make it easy. I had to go all the way to London to pick up the dress – it’s much more colour-friendly over there.

  6. 10 Pippa 17 May, 2010 at 8:50 am

    My eyes! My eyes! Good to see those Docs in such a righteous OOTD.

    • 11 Frances 17 May, 2010 at 11:54 am

      Hahahaha! I have a coworker that dresses almost exclusively in black who looked at me with such horror when I turned up in this outfit; like the colours were going to attack her or something.

  7. 12 papumorgado 17 May, 2010 at 10:19 am

    I also think that we should rock colors in winter too. I’m from Brazil and as winter approaches I’ve decided to wear a lot of colors on my outfits and nails!

  8. 13 Kittehinfurs 17 May, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    So awesome! I love it utterly.

  9. 15 lilacsigil 17 May, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    I tend to wear colour in Winter, but not to cheer me up – I love Winter! I celebrate Winter! I can wear clothes that I like, not just the least-hot clothes I own. I can wear tights and stretchy shirts and dresses for fun, not just to stop my flesh touching itself in a sticky, sweaty way. I can go outside and enjoy the weather, not hide in the cool and go out only when I must.

    So bah on your “depressing” chill in the air! Enjoy your awesome colours!

    • 16 Frances 17 May, 2010 at 3:14 pm

      I’m a Sydney girl – we don’t cope in winter. Every time May rolls around I suddenly realise that my wardrobe is filled with summer gear and I don’t own any jackets. Then my skin gets all scaly from the cold air and wearing tights, then my tan fades and I look far too pale for my liking and I want to swim at the beach but the water is too cold. BOO WINTER.

      • 17 lilacsigil 17 May, 2010 at 3:47 pm

        Poor Sydneysider! I live on the south-western coast of Victoria, where the wind comes straight from Antarctica, and it’s lovely here – but maybe you’d better stay up north until it’s Summer again.

  10. 18 Kath 17 May, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    I must have those boots NAOW!!!

  11. 19 ladyjaye 18 May, 2010 at 5:16 am

    Love the Docs! That reminds me that I *must* break in my own pair (mine are burgundy though)…

  12. 21 bloomie 18 May, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    I think we may be fatshion soulmates. I may have met my match in the color department.
    http://30dressesin30days.blogspot.com/

  13. 22 therealsydney 20 May, 2010 at 12:26 am

    You’re totally cute … I have to confess though I am one of the black and grey wearers in Sydney, I do thrown in a bit of beige and leopard print though.

    Love your blog,

    Steph


Leave a Reply

No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 177 other followers

