OoTD No. 10 – I Love Colours

Photobucket

Sydney loves colours too. The Opera House is being lit up every night as part of the Vivid Festival.

I’ve been in love with We Love Colors tights since stumbling upon their site last year; to date I’ve bought nine pairs in black, white, scarlet, turquoise, yellow, royal blue and violet. So when We Love Colors contacted me for a review, I jumped at the chance.

We Love Colors offered to send me a new pair to review so I decided to try the pair I’ve been a bit apprehensive about: the splash footless tights in #7001. Lord knows why I was apprehensive about them, as the mess of colour is right up my alley. Sydney has been cold (well, cold by Sydney standards) and rainy so I decided the pair the tights with my snugly woollen jumper dress.

Photobucket

It’s hard enough to find coloured tights in Sydney (Australia tends to be a bit conservative when it comes to fashion), let alone in plus sizes, so We Love Colors is solid gold for me. The size chart is very reliable; I am 5’8″ and 210 pounds so I wear the C/D in the plus size range. The tights have an extra panel at the back and this is a godsend for the well-endowed in the arse area (like myself). They come up extremely high – mine go all the way up to my bust – which prevents them slipping down over belly rolls and completely eliminates muffin top. However, you must buy the nylon/lycra blend; the cheaper, nylon only pairs sag around the ankles and knees.

Photobucket

How sweet is this necklace? The Boyfriend got it for me for my birthday. He's a keeper.

Photobucket

Photobucket

AWESOME NEWS FOR ANTIPODEANS: We Love Colors, in recognition of the southern hemisphere’s seasons, is offering free shipping to Australia and New Zealand on all orders over $30. This offer runs all winter long – from 1 June to 31 August – just enter in the code WELOVENZAUS at the checkout. It goes without saying that my tights collection is going to be absurd by the time spring rolls around.

Dress: Country Road
Necklace: Gift
Gloves: Tie Rack
Tights: We Love Colors
Socks: Holeproof
Boots: Dr Martens (I know I’ve been wearing the heck out of these, but they’re so useful in this inclement weather. Plus they look UH-MAY-ZING.)

16 Responses to “OoTD No. 10 – I Love Colours”


  1. 1 kittehinfurs 30 May, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    i’m in love with your pink docs. :D

  2. 3 lilacsigil 31 May, 2010 at 12:01 am

    I love the way you’ve put that outfit together, with the cloud-like colours on the leggings reflected elsewhere.

    Another testimonial for We Love Colors – I usually destroy stockings and tights in two wears, at most, but I’ve worn one pair of the lycra/nylon tights more than a dozen times and they’re still good. I’m in the EE size, and they’re very comfortable and long enough for my long, fat legs – I often have problems with the crotch reaching high enough and not giving me an inch of really nasty chub-rub.

  3. 4 Anna 31 May, 2010 at 10:47 am

    Yay! Thankyou for this! And especially letting us know about the offer. I know a bunch of girls in roller derby who have been angling for more tights and socks, so this is awesome!

  4. 5 Itsjustme 31 May, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    When I finally get up the courage to come to Sydney I am coming to your place to steal those gloves.

    You rock (and soooo make me smile!!)

    • 6 Frances 31 May, 2010 at 8:35 pm

      You’re coming in September aren’t you? (Eeeeee I can’t wait!) I’ll make sure I put my gloves under lock and key before you get here.

  5. 7 sleepydumpling 31 May, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    I think I need to try the splash tights. You’ve certainly rocked them there!

  6. 8 Julie 31 May, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    Totally divine! You look awesome.

  7. 9 Michelle 1 June, 2010 at 12:36 am

    Brilliant review! Thank you! And thanks for the free shipping code too. I’ve been stalking We Love Colors for months, but now I think I’m going to do some shopping!

  8. 10 Fat Nurse 1 June, 2010 at 4:17 am

    YOUR SHOES!?!!! oh my goodness. I had to go for caps lock there, they. are. amazing.

    Devon xx
    http://www.fat-nurse.com

  9. 11 Veronica 2 June, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    You and the Opera House both look great!=)

  10. 12 Kate 4 June, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    Hey! Just found your blog and I’m love love loving it. It’s so lovely to find fatties in Australia where I am too. How could I not have found you before???

    Your tone makes me smile, so lovely and fun. I’m enjoying hanging out with virtual you! And last night I spent a long time looking at lovely fat ladies on your tumblr and links from your tumblr. When I undressed to go to bed I looked at myself in the mirror and I had a moment of sadness that my tummy wasn’t as big as it used to be. Perspective is a lovely thing, isn’t it!

    It’s still a lovely soft snuggly tummy, though, no fear!

    • 13 Frances 4 June, 2010 at 12:18 pm

      Thank you, Kate! The internet is an awfully big place, so I won’t hold it against you that you haven’t found me until now.

      I think I know what you mean – 12 months of looking at gorgeous fat bellies practically every day makes me a little jealous that mine is on the small side of fat.

  11. 14 manicmolly 6 June, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    Your boots are so awesome! That’s my favourite shade of pink!
    Envious because I could never pull them off – my legs are too short & stumpy! You’re so tall!

    • 15 Frances 8 June, 2010 at 12:07 pm

      Thank you! But I promise that docs stumpigy everyone’s legs. I wore black 8 holes to school every day in Year 11. In Year 12 I got a pair of cute mary janes to wear instead (we had to wear black leather shoes as part of our uniform). I had so many girls say to me “Oh my god! You have ankles!”


  1. 1 We Love Colors giveaway! « Trackback on 4 June, 2010 at 1:14 pm

Leave a Reply

No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 181 other followers

