New to Fat Acceptance?

It has come to my attention that, thanks to my recent claim to outrageous fame, people may be coming here with little to no understanding of what fat acceptance actually is. (Including people from my real life – shout out to my MB 314 crew!) I write with a level of assumed knowledge, so it’s only fair that I provide some introductory information so you have an understanding of where I’m coming from.

Treat this like a class. You know how teachers act like you’re wasting their time when you ask a question that shows you haven’t done the reading? This applies here.

Welcome to Fat Acceptance 101.

Fat Acceptance 101 – Required Reading

Weight. An emotional issue. at Discourse
A balanced post, calling for both sides of the obesity debate to respect the experiences of others.

“Aren’t you worried about your health?” at Cosmopolitan Australia (written by me!)
Just So We’re Clear… Some Fat Facts
at Body Love Wellness
Don’t You Realize Fat is Unhealthy? at Shapely Prose
Some posts that bust the common myths surrounding obesity.

The HAES Manifesto by Dr Linda Bacon
Brief overview of why diets don’t work and what health at every size, or HAES, is.

Health at Every Size: choice or coercion? at Fat Nutritionist
By far the most comprehensive explanation I’ve read of what HAES really means.

Second Verse, Same as the First; Fat Acceptance is for Everyone at The Rotund
Exactly what the title says: Fat acceptance isn’t limited to fatties.

Choice and Hate at Catalytic Reactions
Breaking down the common argument ‘fat is a choice’.

Acceptance is not ‘giving up’ at Spilt Milk
A beautiful post that rebutts the assumptions made about fat acceptance and explains perfectly what I love about this movement.

24 Responses to “New to Fat Acceptance?”


  1. 1 riotsnotdiets 31 August, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    This is fantastic–I will gladly send this along to anyone who needs some FA 101 in their lives. Thank you!

    Also, I find it equal parts hilarious and depressing that there’s an ad on this post for rapid weight loss drops. I know you don’t pick the ads… I’m guessing Google just reads “fat” and assumes weight loss as the goal.

  2. 4 Currypuff 31 August, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    Very helpful reading for those of us new to fat acceptance. There is so much bullshit about body shapes and sizes out there. More power to you, Miss Lobster

  3. 6 Michelle 31 August, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    Great post. The book that changed my life was “Screw Inner Beauty” by Kate Harding and Marianne Kirby. It was a Christmas present from my other half and it was possibly the best present he’s ever given me. Finally I realised it was ok to be FAT and still try to be healthy for health’s sake, not losing-weight’s sake. A blessed relief!

    Just reading about FA gives me permission to feel good about myself. My confidence has increased and I no longer put up with the doubters and criticisers in my life.

  4. 7 dogwatcher 1 September, 2010 at 2:33 am

    thanks for putting this together. i’m sort of a newbie and have a lot of eating disordered thinking to overcome. this made my day better. thank you!

  5. 8 Liz 1 September, 2010 at 7:11 am

    I get an ad, too, and found it amusing, if sad:

    Medifast vs. Optifast
    What Did 20k Drs Choose? Medifast! Lose Up To 2-5 lbs a Week Now.

    I am reading in MSIE.

    and a great post, btw!!

  6. 9 Golda 1 September, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    Hey there! Thanks for the shoutout!

  7. 10 snaffler 2 September, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    Long time reader, first time commenter. Not really fat myself but all for fat acceptance, and acceptance in its many forms.

    Love your fashion, Frances. Apart from your insightful fat commentary, it’s why I read your blog.

    Just wanted to ask if you’d checked out Beyonce’s plus-size clothing at http://shop.dereon.com/shop.php – poss not everyone’s style, but there is a cute hot pink dress there right now….

    • 11 Frances 2 September, 2010 at 5:20 pm

      Thanks, snaffler!

      I didn’t even know Dereon had a plus size line. Thanks for the link, but it’s not quite my style… all the bedazzled bits look a bit too much like Ed Hardy…

  8. 12 Judith Dahlen 17 October, 2010 at 5:33 am

    Bravo young woman!!! Bravo!!! I’d like to recommend googling Hilda Calendar Art to enjoy the delightful Hilda, a 50′s 60′s calendar art character who is always pink, plump and romping about the great outdoors clad in a polka dot bikini. You and your significant others will treasure her, I guarantee. JD

  9. 14 Menna 13 January, 2011 at 8:50 am

    Love this! thank you for creating something like this!! :)

  10. 15 Cin 7 March, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    This is awesome! :D

  11. 16 Betty Blue 10 July, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    Hey! I stumbled upon your blog, and Im glad I did. I am a plus sized webcam model and men LOVE my body!! They LOVE the fat, the rolls, the dimples, the giggles. Everything….! I love my body too!!

    Its funny tho….but even as much as the ylove my body, when I say the word FAT, they say “no no, dont say that, you are not fat” then I repy “I am fat, and fat is gorgeous! nothing wrong with FAT!” They all agree!

  12. 17 taryn 20 November, 2012 at 9:41 am

    keep in mind that “short” is not a neutral term anymore either. its starting to become like “fat” is. i am sick of hearing girls whine “euuu i’m so short” while my four foot nine self is within earshot. people yell “midget” at me from car windows. i am told how beautiful i would be if only i was a foot taller. the icky word “petite” Is used just like “fluffy”, a saccharine sweet euphemism. just as people assume fat=ugly, smelly, lazy, people assume short=cutesy OR ugly, weak, submissive. i am treated by society as a little puppy–strangers even have patted my head on occasion.

  13. 18 lawyerdoll 2 January, 2013 at 5:54 am

    I have to admit, after I read this post… I went back into my New Year’s Day post (that I had JUST published) and removed some “fat-talk”. That post was to be about physical confidence, and you reminded me to keep the focus where it belonged.

    So thank you for the ‘check”!

    • 19 Debra Bell 5 February, 2013 at 11:36 am

      so awesome my birthday is feb 23rd and i googles positive immage of fat cewomen and found substantia jones…then this ……its on my facebook page now! thankyou

  14. 20 blackmetalvalkyrie 24 December, 2013 at 6:06 pm

    Reblogged this on Black Metal Valkyrie-question male-identified bullshit and commented:
    I always try to open people up to this idea that being fat is not something bad and shameful and they can still be healthy.


  1. 1 Another HAES Quote | Living ~400lbs Trackback on 2 September, 2010 at 1:07 am
  2. 2 Cool Shit 3 — « Fierce, Freethinking Fatties Trackback on 4 September, 2010 at 5:10 am
  3. 3 Size acceptance at every size | From the Square | NYU Press blog Trackback on 20 January, 2012 at 4:22 am
  4. 4 Here, There, and Everywhere | BossyBelly Trackback on 24 December, 2012 at 12:53 pm

Leave a Reply

No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

