OoTD No. 13 – Beth Ditto at Evans Review pt. 1

As many of you know, on 17 September 2010 the second Beth Ditto at Evans collection was launched. It was a highly anticipated affair and #dittowatch fever made the event that much more exciting.

While I was looking forward to the fatshion extravaganza, this collection didn’t grab me as much as the last year’s. Last year was pure 80s kitsch – bold prints, sequins and shapes not often associated with mainstream plus size fashion. It was so different to what was being offered elsewhere. (I still get compliments on my domino leggings.)

This year’s offering is far more subdued. It stays closer to current trends, the cuts are more ‘flattering’ and the prints are more muted. I’m sure that makes it a lot more wearable for many of Evans’ customers, but it doesn’t parade up my alley. All that said, I did buy a few cute bits and pieces: the polka dot tshirt (which I am reviewing today), the heart print dress and the high waisted black leggings (which I hope to review next week).

I’ve written before of my love for tshirts. They’re comfy, they’re easy and they go great with a pair of high tops. Normally I wear men’s shirts; while the cut isn’t very forgiving on my hooters, the length agrees with my torso. But, after seeing the ultra cute print on the Beth Ditto tee, I decided to give it a go.

Verdict? This is a brilliant tshirt. It’s form fitting, the length is bang on, it has a good sized neckline and the material is super duper soft. I know I’m going to wear the hell out of this thing over spring and summer.

This is how I wore it for a haircut, a swim and a pizza at Bondi:

Photobucket

Tshirt: Beth Ditto at Evans
Shorts: Jay Jays
Sneakers: Nike Air Royalty High Premium from Foot Locker
Bag: Puma from Platypus
Watch: Nu + Nan

While tshirts seem to be made for easy weekends, the material of this tee is so lush and the print so femme that it can easily be dressed up. After our day at the beach, the Boyfriend and I went to late night supper at the Victoria Room (and ate some amazing four cheese fondue). This outfit really isn’t my style, but as the Victoria Room is decked out in British Raj style I thought I should dress up a little.

Photobucket

Tshirt: Beth Ditto at Evans
Dress: Portmans
Socks: American Apparel
Jazz shoes: Bloch
Necklace: Dinosaur Designs sample
Bangle: Dinosaur Designs
Lipstick: Girl About Town by MAC

21 Responses to “OoTD No. 13 – Beth Ditto at Evans Review pt. 1”


    • 2 Frances 11 October, 2010 at 3:49 pm

      It cost me about $30. I have to check the weather before I wear it because it’s not even slightly water resistant.

      It sure is pretty, though, isn’t it?

  1. 3 Dan 11 October, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    Pretty sexy. You should show a little of your butt. It brings out all the sexiness.

  2. 6 carly 11 October, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    have you shorn your locks for summer? close up of new hair please, it looks fab from a distance xx

  3. 8 G/W 11 October, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    I freaking love that shirt.
    I keep going through phases of loving polka dots… and then not loving them so much but still liking them.
    I’m loving them right now. Just put a bid in on ebay on a beautiful polka dotted corset and the shirt you’re wearing is making me drool.

  4. 9 Laurie 11 October, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    oh i have that shirt on order. I was wondering what it looked like on someone. looks fab!!

  5. 10 Ally Garrett 11 October, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Love the neckline! Love the new do! Love it!

  6. 11 Emma @ Down to Girth 11 October, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    Your new haircut looks fantastic!

  7. 12 bronny 11 October, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    I am loving your shoes and socks combo in the second photo, so cute.

    and the ditto tshirt is gorgeous!

  8. 15 bionicrat 12 October, 2010 at 4:44 am

    I am a US size 8-10 and I have a definite stomach, to make matters worse I do work in retail swimwear so I am constantly faced with images that not-so-subtly suggest that you *HAVE* to look a certain (read: ectomorph) way to deserve to wear a swimsuit. I just have to let you know that your attitude and writing is so badly needed in the world, keep it up!

    Oh, and you look AWESOME in a bikini, full of confidence and HAWT!

  9. 16 bionicrat 12 October, 2010 at 4:45 am

    whoops wrong article, well, you are awesome fully clothed as well.

  10. 17 Veronica 12 October, 2010 at 10:30 am

    I like the t-shirt. I’m excited you have the heart dress, I bought the skirt – and I LOVE it – but I’m curious about the dress. :)

  11. 19 sleepydumpling 15 October, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    I really dig both looks on you. Werk it.

    I really wish I could get my hands on that damn zigzag dress.

  12. 20 adriennefriend 23 October, 2010 at 7:43 am

    Post again soon!! It has been too long.


  1. 1 EVANS Beth Ditto Autumn/Winter 2010 « An Exercise In Trivial Pursuits Trackback on 30 October, 2010 at 1:01 pm

Leave a Reply

No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

