OoTD No. 14 – Beth Ditto at Evans Review pt. 2

Photobucket

As mentioned in part 1 of my Beth Ditto at Evans review, the other items I bought from the 2010 collection were the heart print dress and the high waisted black leggings. The dress is sold as the ‘heart print hanki hem top’ but it’s way too long to be a proper top. (It’s also a bit too short to be a proper dress, but given my penchant for showing a bit of leg, I prefer to wear it as a dress and as such will be calling it one. That said, I am 1.72m/5’8″, so the length may be less scandalous on someone shorter.)

Here’s a look at the dress and leggings together (complete with bonus red eye):

Photobucket

Photobucket

It’s pretty cutesy, but fun enough. The sleeves are a lovely soft jersey and the skirt is very thin and light. The leggings are hugely frustrating; while they fit perfectly when I first put them on, after a couple of hours they’ve stretched and barely stay up. I don’t have this problem with my domino leggings from last year’s collection, despite them being the same size and style.

The very first thought I had when I saw the heart print dress was that it would be much more fun with the sleeves cut off. The material of the skirt looks wispy even in the website pictures and it seemed far better suited to Australia’s impending spring/summer than an autumn/winter collection. So I took my dress to my local alternationist and did exactly that.

Photobucket

Photobucket

What a difference a bit of fabric (or lack thereof) makes. As a sleeveless dress, it’s made for summer. It’s breezy, colourful and so happy. Unfortunately, the skirt is so light that a bit of wind can send it billowing up…

Photobucket

…so you may want to wear some decent underwear when you step out in it.

Dress: Beth Ditto at Evans
Sandals: Nu + Nan
Bangle: Dinosaur Designs
Beach: Clovelly (my favourite)

23 Responses to “OoTD No. 14 – Beth Ditto at Evans Review pt. 2”


  1. 1 Sarah 24 October, 2010 at 2:29 am

    I didn’t like it when I saw it on the website, but the heart dress is so cute with the sleeves cut off! And you do a great job of wearing it, haha.
    Shame about the leggings though. :(

  2. 2 Elizabeth 24 October, 2010 at 3:00 am

    Oh, it looks so good without sleeves!

  3. 3 Natatree 24 October, 2010 at 3:29 am

    Wow! I really love it without the sleeves! It does seem to make the world of difference! It does make it look like a lovely cool Aussie summer dress!!

    You totally work it without the leggings! You have fantastic legs!

  4. 4 Gazel M. 24 October, 2010 at 4:12 am

    Omg I love it with the sleeves off.

  5. 5 nly 24 October, 2010 at 4:42 am

    Zoinks, I totally love that dress/top/thingy with the sleeves off! So cute.

    Would the leggings work if you sized down, or is it a flaw in their design that is making for the ill fit?

    • 6 Frances 24 October, 2010 at 1:16 pm

      I think it may be a flaw. They just lose their shape completely, especially around my stomach – by the end of the day I have all this gaping fabric. Sizing down might be an idea, though the same thing could happen.

  6. 7 Jessica 24 October, 2010 at 5:02 am

    UNF the last picture of you is just more than I can handle frankly…you’re a natural model obviously ;) What a beaut!!

  7. 10 Bethamint 24 October, 2010 at 5:40 am

    I actually like it tons better without the sleeves!

  8. 11 sizeoftheocean 24 October, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    I wasn’t particularly taken with this on the website, but I completely adore it as a sleeveless dress!

  9. 12 kimberpotamus 24 October, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    It looks a millions times better sleeveless.

    I’m a bit disappointed with the heart top/dress. Mine hardly covers my bum but I think that might be because of my giant ass and not the dress.

  10. 14 Veronica 25 October, 2010 at 1:09 am

    Oh yes! Cutting the sleeves off made the dress! Suddenly it’s so cute and fun, and you look very cute and fun in it! :-)

  11. 15 Deirdre 25 October, 2010 at 3:06 am

    What I nice dress!! I love it!! And you were right, sleveless is much better. :-)
    <3 <3 <3 <3

  12. 17 liamliamliam 25 October, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    The cut of the hem is CLEARLY dress-like. Way too floaty to be a shirt.

    • 18 Frances 25 October, 2010 at 3:10 pm

      It’s not too uncommon for a plus size top. But it is confusing – hem points to dress, lightness points to top, length points to neither.

  13. 19 Gracie 25 October, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    It’s funny, because just today I was wondering how the dress would look without sleeves and whether it would be possible to remove them. Get home, load up Google reader and Bazinga! my question has been answered without even trying. Looks so much better without sleeves (as I thought it would) and looks lovely on you :)

  14. 20 Daantaat 25 October, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    Totally awesome without the sleeves! And can I just say I adore those sandals you’re wearing! I love that shade of blue. (I’m guessing they’re blue; they look blue to me anyway)

  15. 22 Chloe Masada 29 October, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    You’re so cute! I love the sandals and I’m inspired to buy that dress then alter it too. Ok, it’s a top but… you know what? I’m only 1.5m tall so I reckon it’ll come up to my knees. Instead of ripping the sleeves completely, I’ll prolly do something like 3/4 or short sleeves.

    Thanks for sharing!!!

  16. 23 Cece 4 November, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    You look gorge! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment on my blog, much appreciated ;)

    Cece from LoveBrownSugar


Comments are currently closed.



No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

