OoTD No. 17 – New Year’s Eve

(Lateness of this post is due to me misplacing the card reader for my camera. Herp derp.)

For New Year’s Eve, the Boyfriend went on a date. We ate excellent Thai at Spice I Am in Darlinghurst, then went home early to drink champers and watch the fireworks on TV. My 18 year old self would have been horrified at my extremely soft NYE effort but my 24 year old self was able to take off her bra before ringing in the new year, so I think we all know who wins that argument.

Dress

My goal for 2010 was to wear more colour.

When my self-esteem and I were at our lowest, I tried my very best to hide myself away. I wore a lot of black. I wore baggy men’s pants in a vain attempt to make my hips and arse disappear. I hated fashion, because I hated how my body refused to conform to the clothes I thought I should be wearing.

Now, my body and I are the best of friends and I like who I am. I trust how I feel about myself and I want the clothes I wear to reflect the sort of person that I am. I want fashion – no longer something to be dictated, but something to be interpreted – to make me feel more like myself.

This, as a fat person, is difficult. I recognise that, as a smaller fatty, I have more sartorial choices than those larger than me. Nevertheless, turning my wardrobe into something that communicates who I am is a seemingly never-ending process. But I am getting there.

To say farewell to 2010, I chose my most colourful garb.

Bracelets

Excuse my bitten fingernails.

2010 wasn’t all beer and roses and I don’t think it will be remembered as one of my great years. Nevertheless, there were a big pile of highlights:

2011 will bring a move to a new flat, another trip to Europe, a new team to follow in the Tour de France (long live Leopard Trek!) and hopefully many more fatty meet-ups with my online family. Bring it.

Bag

(Yes, my bag is the most amazing thing ever. God, I just love things shaped like others things. Between this and my pineapple bag, I think I should try to get a whole fruit bowl. If any of you come across a garish vinyl watermelon-shaped bag in your travels, please let me know.)

Dress: naKIMuli
Bag: Mink Schmink
Belt (worn backwards): Globe Amaranth on etsy
Sandals: Nu + Nan
Necklace (multicoloured): Tree of Life
Necklace (pink): Dinosaur Designs sample
Bracelet (beaded): A souvenir shop just outside Vatican City
Bracelet (orange/silver): Mimco
Bangle (silver): Agent 99 from General Pants Co. (part of a pack of three)
Bangle (pink): Dinosaur Designs

Happy new year, everyone, and I hope you enjoy your 2011.

30 Responses to “OoTD No. 17 – New Year’s Eve”


  1. 1 Sonya 9 January, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    You did a very good job following those resolutions! I would have thought you’d been wearing bright colours all your life! I love those sandals so hard.

  2. 2 Emma 9 January, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    You look gorgeous! I didn’t have the same resolution last year, but you and your blog have still contributed significantly to the un-blackening, short-skirtedness and tight-fittingdom of my current wardrobe. Thanks for helping fat girls like me feel beautiful and Happy New Year to you!

  3. 3 Margo 9 January, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    This is stunning, you’re radiant.

  4. 4 emily 9 January, 2011 at 11:04 pm

    I covet your apple bag! And that naKIMuli dress looks great on you, i wish i could pull off yellow but I really can’t! Happy (belated) New Year :).

  5. 6 Natalie 9 January, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    I LOVE that dress! You look amazing in yellow! That is seriously one colour I wish I could pull off!

  6. 8 Deirdre 9 January, 2011 at 11:45 pm

    I’m absolutely in love with your bag!!! Have you ever thought about leaving your hair longer? I think that would be amazing. Anyway, I love your look.
    Welcome, 2011. Let’s see what you’ve got for us.

    • 9 Frances 10 January, 2011 at 9:48 am

      I had hair past my shoulders about five or so years ago and it’s steadily gotten shorter since then. Unfortunately my curls grow down, not out, so when it’s long I lose all my volume. Plus, long curly hair is so difficult to manage. I’ll be sticking with my short crop for a while, I think.

  7. 10 Amanda 10 January, 2011 at 1:55 am

    Love the outfit AND the argument between your 18 and 24 year old selves! Can’t wait to see the outfits you rock in 2011 :)

  8. 12 Veronica 10 January, 2011 at 2:18 am

    Gosh, that dress is (still) SO AWESOME! And I love your shoes too! All the best in the new year!

  9. 13 outrageandsprinkles 10 January, 2011 at 7:04 am

    Ok, I never really comment here, but I have to comment now because this may be my favorite outfit of yours ever. Oh hello adorable dress! Adorable dress, meet bright, cheerful jewelry! Wait, who’s this? Apple bag? Okay, it’s too much, it’s the cutest outfit ever.

  10. 15 Tracy Dane 10 January, 2011 at 9:24 am

    I luv that dress and the sandals too. gorgeous.

  11. 16 The Merry Traveller 10 January, 2011 at 10:34 am

    Happy New Year to you! All the pops of colour bring a smile to my face. They are colours that make one happy so I applaud your decision for colour!

  12. 17 Ariel 10 January, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    The colorssssssssss!
    I love them.

    and your hair is amazing.

    • 18 Frances 10 January, 2011 at 4:28 pm

      Thank you, love!

      My hair is amazing now. When I got it cut a couple of weeks ago it was not cute at all – the hairdresser rudely gave me a short back and sides!

  13. 19 Belinda 11 January, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    Amazing as always. Longtime lurker, first time comment-maker. Mostly just to applaud you for using my favourite phrase “I like things shaped like other things.” This urge for me mostly expresses itself in kitsch kitchen items, but man, what a bag. Love it love it love it.

  14. 23 TAMMY 14 January, 2011 at 2:08 am

    love the colors…who could frown with all that brightness…

    http://iwishiknewthis.com/

  15. 24 Chloe Masada 15 January, 2011 at 6:33 am

    Love everything and I mean EVERYTHING about this outfit! I’d wear it myself! That’s how much I love it!

    You have nice long legs, you’re right to forget about hiding yourself.

    I wish you a more colourful and adventurous 2011!!!

  16. 26 Deirdre 15 January, 2011 at 7:05 am

    Hey, Frances, what’s happened to softwomen’s tumblr? I can’t find it anymore! :-(

  17. 29 Bearly on earth 25 January, 2011 at 10:40 am

    You are so right about these dresses- I love this in yellow! And your apple bag is toooooo cute!

  18. 30 sleepydumpling 25 January, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    Still catching up with flood week blog posts. YOU LOOK SO SUNSHINEY!!


Leave a Reply

No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 181 other followers

