OoTD No. 19 – Colour vomit

I’ve noticed that the fatosphere doesn’t really like to show casual outfits. Most fatshion blogs I read (and my own, I admit) show off their special occasion outfits, where their accessories and their make-up are just so. I feel like this does us all a disservice because casual can be an incredibly difficult style to master.

I think that our collective reluctance may have something to do with an issue Marianne touched on on her tumblr:

…what I hear in my head is a Greek chorus of voices from all sorts of different sources saying jeans always look sloppy on a woman of my size. That women as large as I am should never just wear t-shirts.

I worked at Lane Bryant for three years and, in many ways, they were proto-fat acceptance years for me. There was this rule, though, that you could never just wear, for example, a pair of pants and a top. That was just clothing. No, you needed three pieces to make an OUTFIT.

Maybe that’s lingering in my head … because without [accessories] I’m just dressed and that’s some kind of violation of the Fat Code.

I’m a smaller fat, so I doubt that I feel this as acutely as someone the size of Marianne, but I do get it. A tshirt and jeans on a fat person seems sloppy and unfinished, whereas on someone far smaller it’s classic. Even this post, despite not wearing any jewellery (which is pretty rare for me), I’m wearing colour vomit to make my tshirt-jeans-kicks combo more interesting.

I don’t think I’ll ever be a white shirt and blue denim girl.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I don’t usually wear pants but I could hardly pass up these. My mum cringed when she first saw these pants, that’s how good they are. Apparently their colour is ‘Blood Orange’ but I’ve been calling is ‘Fluorescent Salmon’ as it seems more accurate. Still not perfect, though. Care to help me come up with a name for this colour? (Edit: They’re more orange than they appear in these photos.)

Tshirt: Vintage from SHAG
Jacket: Jibri
Jeans: Jay Jays
Sneakers: Nike Terminator Hi Quickstrike from Sneakerology

These photos were taken in one of my favourite parts of Sydney: the succulent garden at the Royal Botanic Gardens.

29 Responses to “OoTD No. 19 – Colour vomit”


  1. 1 Natalie 5 April, 2011 at 11:12 am

    AAHHHH I love this. I love everything but the pink jeans? FABULOUS.

    I so feel the casual = sloppy fatty conundrum and I’ve tried to post a few casual outfits but yeah, I feel like it’s not ~enough~ which sucks so bad because casual is what I usually wear!

    • 2 Frances 5 April, 2011 at 11:17 am

      I know! This is why I go weeks upon weeks without posting an outfit – because I’m too casual or because I’m wearing something identical/similar to something I’ve already posted on the blog. Which means I’m misleading people… I’m not as fashionable (nor as cashed up, come to that) as my blog makes me look.

  2. 3 newswithnipples 5 April, 2011 at 11:16 am

    I’m not a white t-shirt and blue denim woman either, because it generally looks shit and is boooooring.

    I love your outfit. It kicks casual’s butt and makes it awesome casual.

  3. 6 ariel 5 April, 2011 at 11:16 am

    those. shoes.
    and you.
    arghggggggggghhh
    awesome!

  4. 7 beep 5 April, 2011 at 11:29 am

    To me, that colour would be “Barbie”.

  5. 8 Simone D. 5 April, 2011 at 11:34 am

    Anaemic labia pink?
    Watermelon icecream?
    Pink doughnut icing?

  6. 10 Ally 5 April, 2011 at 11:40 am

    I thought it couldn’t get better…. and then the yellow jacket appeared!

    I really like what you’ve written about jeans and t-shirt = casual. I don’t wear a lot of pants, but often when I just wear a skirt and a top to work I feel very drab – I think something is telling me I should accessorise so it looks like I’ve made an effort!

  7. 11 bronny 5 April, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    i absolutely love these jeans.

    • 12 Frances 5 April, 2011 at 12:19 pm

      I thought you might! Size 16 at Jay Jays – they’ve got a fair bit of stretch. They’re thin and cheap, though; I expect my thighs will tear up the inner seam in no time.

  8. 13 mimbles 5 April, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    For some reason that outfit just makes me want to yell “Fuck Yeah!” ‘Tis fabulous! :-)

  9. 15 Hippopotamuslee 5 April, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    I LOVE this. I’m going to start doing OOTDs of me in my pajamas because that’s my day-to-day attire.

  10. 17 Cansu 5 April, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    You’re a flower!

    I would call that colour ‘the colour your tongue would turn after scoffing down fanta and fairy floss’, which is prety lengthy but it has a certain charm to it.

  11. 19 James H 5 April, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    I think you were close with Salmon. To me, it’s an electric turbo-salmon.

  12. 21 Anna 5 April, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    I love those jeans on you. Bring on the casual!

  13. 22 kk 5 April, 2011 at 11:28 pm

    who comes up with this bullshit advice that fat girls shouldn’t wear this or that? fat or thin, people should wear what they feel happy in, provide it doesn’t smell or harbour fleas. & while i’m at it, designers of fat clothes should have celery sticks shoved in their ears till they scream for mercy. it is possible to design pleasing garments that don’t have inappropriate detailing & bits of tizz everywhere. who wants leggings with ruching at the ankle or cotton tops that can’t be washed because of extraneous sequins? & don’t get me started on the hideous, hideous prints in nana colours that the clothing industry attempts to foist on us lardies. would it kill them to exercise restraint & produce some classic pieces? apparently yes.

  14. 23 Jean Green 6 April, 2011 at 2:10 am

    I thought the outfit was fabulous at first sight! Then I scrolled down … when you put on the jacket, I passed out from the FABulosity!! Well done!

  15. 24 sleepydumpling 6 April, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    Eeeee! Look at all that delicious, delicious colour.

    When it comes to “casual” outfits, I don’t really have “casual”. I have either getting dressed to do/go somewhere, or “slobbing about the house in whatever is comfortable”. I am not really a jeans and t-shirt kind of woman, y’know? Even if I’m just going to the shops or hanging out with friends, it’s still an “outfit”. It’s not that it’s something I agonise over, I just really enjoy putting an outfit together, so I do it at every opportunity.

  16. 25 LoriA 9 April, 2011 at 3:52 am

    I think I had a shirt like that when I was a kid, and this made me realize how much I miss it! I love your style, and I love that you’re sharing it with the world.

  17. 26 Xena 19 May, 2011 at 9:55 am

    Yes, Cansu! Just condense it! Fanta&Fairy Floss Tongue.

    Um, I’m Canadian. What’s fairy floss? Anything like cotton candy?

  18. 28 Xena 19 May, 2011 at 10:12 am

    *awestruck inhale*
    I just noticed the flora behind you. Is that a garden, or do those lovely high green hanging tentacle plants grow naturally where you are?

    That’s such a pretty backdrop for the critters on your t-shirt. Such a fun look. Your photographer has talent too.


Leave a Reply

No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

