OoTD No. 20 – No pants

After my last post, I got a few comments saying that casual need not be limited to jeans, especially considering the tendency of pants to either a) fall down or b) choke organs. It’s a fair point, and the jeans I was wearing in my last post do reveal my butt crack more often than I’d like. The only reason they made it into my wardrobe is because they’re electric turbo-salmon (thanks, James). For the most part, this Venn diagram really speaks to me:

Venn diagram

So here’s my pants-free take on casual.

Photobucket

The tshirt is Lazy Oaf. They don’t carry plus sizes, so deathfatz don’t get to play (yet again). Their roomiest gear would probably be their single size ‘slob’ tees, which I reckon could fit up to an Australian size 20.

This ‘oversized’ tee (size M/L) is actually a bit small, especially in the arm holes, but I’ve been forcing it on every weekend since I bought it so the cotton has yielded a little. My fat takes no prisoners.

Photobucket

BEST NECKLACE IN THE HISTORY OF FOREVER. If I never buy a piece of jewellery again, I will be ok because I have this necklace. It’s a garish representation of the People’s Princess, Lady Di. I’m no monarchist and I’ll be very happy when we get the Union Jack off our flag, but I always always make an exception for kitsch.

 You can get this beauty from Phillip Normal’s shop, The Happy Shack, in Camden or, if you ask him very nicely on his facebook page, he may send you one in the post (like he very kindly did for me).

Photobucket

Photobucket

Tshirt: Lazy Oaf
Skirt: Supre
Sneakers: Nike Dunk High Supreme Spark from Hype DC (I think)
Necklace: Phillip Normal
Bag: Broadway Betty

PS. My second post for Cosmo went up last week. I can’t tell you how awesome it feels to be writing about fat acceptance for a mainstream audience AND that a magazine like Cosmo has been so keen to get behind it.

19 Responses to “OoTD No. 20 – No pants”


  1. 1 bloomie 18 April, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    I love this outfit (I feel like I’m not so good at wearing sneakers w/skirts, but you rock this).

    Also, I think you’re the lone fatty blogger who loves color even more than I do.

    • 2 Frances 18 April, 2011 at 12:35 pm

      Sneakers are my shoe obsession. Some people swoon over heels, I swoon over kicks.

      Re: colour – That’s why I was so excited when I found your blog – “Holy crap, another fatty who binges on brights!” We look awesome all the time.

  2. 4 Hippopotamuslee 18 April, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    I love you and I love this!! The shirt and the necklace are such a great combination. When I’m not in my pj’s, I’m in my jeans but they are so annoying. I need to look into buying/sewing some now that it’s starting to warm up here. Also: have you played on Reebok/Nike/Adidas/Puma’s websites? I literally spent an hour+ customizing sneaker colors; it’s whelming.

    • 5 Frances 18 April, 2011 at 1:48 pm

      I love you! <3

      I know of the customisation tools on Reebok/Nike/Adidas/Puma’s websites but I have stayed well away. I know if I went there that's where I'd spend the rest of my life and it's not healthy.

  3. 6 happybodies 18 April, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    It’s so great to see FA on Cosmo! Thanks for sharing the link.

  4. 7 Anna 18 April, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    Perfect outfit. You look amazing!

  5. 8 LoriA 19 April, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    Oh man this makes me want to get more colorful clothes!

  6. 9 youlikemylipstick 20 April, 2011 at 1:38 am

    oh girl! you’re just like a rainbow! i love your style!
    many kisses from italy :)
    Serena

  7. 11 Sbeissy 20 April, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    Your Venn diagram is priceless! It never even occurred to me that this absolute yet much-overlooked truth could be broken down and presented in such a blatant, simple, and visual way! Very nice. I chuckled xD

  8. 12 sleepydumpling 22 April, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    I have only one thing to say:

    DOWN WITH PANTS!

  9. 13 Naka 23 April, 2011 at 10:39 am

    i love your shirt my friend steph has the same one. She loves lazy oaf so much its quite cute :3 and i love your shoes!

  10. 14 What Ken Be Done 29 April, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    *Super Snaps* on Diana, right?! I’ve been eyeing this necklace and not only did you score it… but you wear it BEAUTIFULLY! Rah-rah, you look hot!

  11. 16 Plus Size Dorita 3 May, 2011 at 5:19 am

    Wow, that necklace is totally amazing and I’m feeling super jealous right now!

  12. 17 Susan Plus Size 10 May, 2011 at 5:31 am

    I love your shoes and how the colors totally fit with your top – awesome!

  13. 18 Deena 4 July, 2011 at 1:04 am

    Loving the necklace but I have to admit I thought it was an image of the blond one off Scooby Doo!

  14. 19 James H 12 July, 2011 at 1:23 am

    Please let me know should you be in need of my colour naming services, dear Frances.


Comments are currently closed.



No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

