OoTD No. 21 – Day-glo punk rock

First things first: I gave myself a slight haircut.

Photobucket

My hairdresser charges me an outrageous amount to cut my hair. But he had me between a rock and a hard place, because whenever I used a different hairdresser my mop was massacred (I paid $70 for a hideous short back and sides before Christmas). So, inspired by Gisela and Kath, I decided to clipper it. I’m all for anything that’s cheap/free and allows me to spend the bare minimum of time on my appearance. #3 guard 4 lyf.

The hair kind of roughs up every outfit I wear, which I’m well into. I thought I looked like a day-glo punk rocker the day I wore this:

Photobucket

HORIZONTAL STRIPES ON A FAT GIRL

I was super excited when I first got this jacket, but now it does my head in. Despite the tag on the jacket and the listing that was on LA Vintage, this is not leather (unless cows have recently been genetically engineered to be made out of waterproof vinyl and I just didn’t know about it). Maybe I should have a blog sale or something… I have a few pairs of sneakers I’m not in love with anymore… anyone interested in a pleather jacket or some lightly used Nike Air Maxes?

Dress: Asos
Cardigan: Some cheap and nasty chain store, like Temt or Ice
‘Leather’ jacket: LA Vintage
Tights: We Love Colors
Necklace: Phillip Normal
Socks: Holeproof
Boots: Dr Martens

24 Responses to “OoTD No. 21 – Day-glo punk rock”


  1. 1 Moe 4 May, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    As soon as I saw those boots I knew they were docs.

    Love the hair. I’m debating on doing the ole clip-a-roo. Every five to six years around summertime I chop it all. But I usually have the husband do it. I can’t imagine paying $70 for a haircut. We’d all starve.

    • 2 Frances 4 May, 2011 at 1:25 pm

      Haha, that reminds me a conversation I overheard when I was wearing this outfit. Two women were walking behind me:
      Woman 1: Look at those docs!
      W2: Are they docs?
      W1: Of course they are, look at her hair.

      I managed to justify the price of my haircut because I only got it snipped every 3 months or so. But still, it’s highway robbery. Cutting curly hair seems to be beyond all hairdressers except the very expensive ones… :S

  2. 3 Craftastrophies 4 May, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    I am seriously considering shaving my head. The last three summers I swore one more heatwave and it’d go. I think once winter is over (cold, I hate to be COLD) it will go.

    I miss my short hair. The thing I miss about it the most was the way having butch hair made me feel good about dressing femme. I guess I feel too ‘normal’ or like I am ‘passing as feminine’ with long hair and a girly dress/floral prints. Also, I am really too lazy to do much with my long hair.

    • 4 Frances 4 May, 2011 at 3:36 pm

      This is the first time in years and years I haven’t had to style my hair at all. God, it’s BLISS.

      I felt too normal with long hair too! I totally agree – even when I’m dressed really plainly, the buzzcut keeps things interesting.

  3. 5 E. Ai B. 4 May, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    I keep wanting to give myself a mohawk, mostly just b/c you don’t see it often, which seems as good of a reason for a hairstyle as any…But my hair is also VERY thick and wire-y, and I’m charged usually double what some women are b/c it is such a PAIN to mess with. I love your hair! You utterly rock that look.

  4. 6 Sonya 4 May, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    Fraaaaaaaaaaaaaances you better keep your hairs like this when I’m in Sydney next. I want to touch it!

    /perve

  5. 8 bronny 5 May, 2011 at 3:19 am

    if you ever want somebody to take the jacket off your hands please please please give me first dibs!!

  6. 10 Laura 5 May, 2011 at 10:20 am

    I did this exact same thing a few months ago! It looks awesome on you! Curly hair is great super short. Very, very cute.

  7. 11 Chloe Masada 6 May, 2011 at 12:16 am

    You know, you’re the kind of girl with so much confidence you’ll look great in anything with any haircut!!

  8. 12 Ariel 6 May, 2011 at 5:32 am

    you. look. amazing.

    i was holding my niece while i was looking at these pictures and she kept saying “pretty!” and then she oohed and ahhed when we scrolled down to your shoes.

    i love these colors!

    • 13 Frances 6 May, 2011 at 12:41 pm

      Aw! That’s so cute. (Though I have noticed that little kids are always super interested in what I’m wearing. I think I missed my calling as a children’s TV presenter.)

  9. 14 bloomie 6 May, 2011 at 7:24 am

    In college I dreamed of shaving my head. Not gonna happen now, but I kinda wish I had attempted it all those years ago.

    I LURVE your glasses. LURVE.

    • 15 Frances 6 May, 2011 at 12:43 pm

      The glasses are from Cutler and Gross in London. The last time I was over there, I went to Kensington purely to buy a pair of C&G frames (with a slight detour to the Natural History Museum to check out the animatronic dinosaur). Seriously expensive, but I love them.

  10. 16 legolas 9 May, 2011 at 7:10 am

    Love the (lack of) hair! A blog sale would be amazing, but my only request would be that you include some accessory (i hate that word) type things so us non-fatties could get on it too. :)

  11. 18 Delphine 12 May, 2011 at 2:31 am

    Your blog is absolutely fantastic, I just discovered it today and I’m already in love with your writing. :D Great way of thinking and promoting a loving attitude towards your body, no matter what size it is. Like most fat people, I have my bad days when I feel like a giant, disgusting whale (I’m 175cm and 95kg) but now that I found your blog I those days are behind me. Reading just a dozen of your posts already helped me see that I’m beautiful, inside and out. Thank you and keep up the amazing work! :)

  12. 20 Xena 19 May, 2011 at 9:47 am

    LOVE the jacket and I would SO buy it. But I’m in Canada.I just discovered your blog. There’s some amazing stuff here. I will definitely be back.

    With lots of friends. ttfn.

  13. 21 Christine 20 May, 2011 at 1:09 am

    You look adorable no matter your hair length, but I miss your long hair; mostly because I’m so jealous of your adorable curls. (Sooo cute! and full! unlike my hair which has lost curl and volume over the years)….

    That necklace makes me smile every time I see it. :)

  14. 22 Keira 20 May, 2011 at 6:27 pm

    hey there and welcome to the nearly no hair club! You rock it. Totally butches-up any given outfit.

  15. 23 Wilberthe 23 May, 2011 at 5:34 am

    I clipped my hair this past December to get rid of the relaxer I had in it, and it was one of the best experiences of my life! I agree, I think it made all my outfits look a little more interesting.
    I’m gonna miss not having to anything to my hair except wash it, but I can’t wait to grow out my fro :)

    p.s you rock those stripes grrrl!

  16. 24 diana 16 October, 2011 at 3:42 am

    fantastic blog…you are magnificaaaa


Leave a Reply

No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

