OoTD No. 22 – Happy birthday to me

On Sunday, I turned the grand old age of 25 and officially moved out of the yoof range of 16-24. I’m in a whole new marketing demographic now!

I’m not one for parties, so the Boyfriend and I had our own understated celebration on Saturday. In the afternoon we went to the new contemporary collection at the Art Gallery of NSW, which is both great and free so you should definitely check it out. (I’m not very knowledgeable but I enjoy contemporary art very much. Out of all the artworks on display at the gallery,  this installation by Ugo Rondinone was my favourite.) We followed up our dose of kulcha with an amaaaaaaazing meal at Bentley Restaurant and Bar. They make good everything in that place. The cocktails and wine we imbibed did result in a hangover on my birthday, so at least that part of my yoof hasn’t disappeared.

But before all that, I posed. I got stared at a fair bit in this outfit, but that was kind of the point.

Photobucket

It was actually a little bit warm for this woolen Beth Ditto dress but nothing was going to stop me from wearing birthday sparkles. This decision paid for itself when a convenience store clerk liked my dress so much, and was so pleased to find out it was my birthday, that he gave me a free chupa chup. Result!

Photobucket

The bird I’m posing with is a bronze sculpture by Henry Moore called Reclining figure: Angles (1980) that lives outside the gallery. While she makes an excellent posing partner…

Photobucket

…she is incredibly uncomfortable to recline on. My head is resting on her tit, which didn’t make the best pillow.

Photobucket

This shoes are gorgeous, clearly, but I leave a Tinkerbell-style trail of glitter everywhere I go. I’ve only worn them three times but I’ve already scuffed both toes. While I don’t regret buying them, they seem like they’re going to be an extremely short-term item.

Photobucket

Jumper dress: Beth Ditto for Evans (first collection) via eBay
Leggings: Beth Ditto for Evans (first collection)
Shoes: Jeffrey Campbell Uniform Glitter from Solestruck
Watch: Nixon, (part of my) birthday present from the Boyfriend
Lippy: Girl About Town by MAC

PS. My third post for Cosmo Australia went up last week. This one’s on faTshion. (Thank you to everyone who read, liked and/or commented on my last post – I was seriously blown away by the reaction.)

16 Responses to “OoTD No. 22 – Happy birthday to me”


  1. 1 Lori Adorable 24 May, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    Happy birthday, lady! I’m super jealous of your Beth Ditto dress. Work it!

  2. 2 Hippopotamuslee 24 May, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    You look adorable, as usual! I’m glad you had such a great birthday :)

    • 3 Frances 24 May, 2011 at 4:12 pm

      YOU’RE ADORABLE.

      PS. After watching your cheeky tumblr video last night, I’ve had “I was born in the Brawwwnx” in my head all day.

  3. 4 Veronica 24 May, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    I think my fave part about this outfit is that you leave a trail of glitter everywhere you go. I feel it’s only appropriate the people around you are given a clue as to the kind of magic they’re in the presence of. =)

  4. 5 Natalie 24 May, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    Those shoes, good googamooga, those shoes! I have a weakness for Jeffrey Campbells & glitter, so they are shoe heaven!

    I love the outfit! I loved the domino print stuff but I couldn’t afford anything, I was lucky enough to win a scarf though!

    Happy (belated) Birthday! I turn 25 in June!

    • 6 Frances 24 May, 2011 at 10:06 pm

      I loved so much of Beth Ditto’s first collection but I was too chicken to buy anything more than the leggings. Now I’m constantly trawling eBay to find the stuff I missed out on.

  5. 7 Anna 24 May, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    Happy Birthday!

  6. 8 Deirdre 24 May, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    Happy birthday!! I completely love your dress. :-)

  7. 9 Tamara 24 May, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    Happy Birthday to you, Frances, you’re gorgeous!!

  8. 11 Carol Gwenn 25 May, 2011 at 3:47 am

    Happy Birthday to you, youngster!

    What a fabulous outfit, especially that dress…and those SHOES. Yes, it’s GOOD to leave a trail of glitter in your wake; let people puzzle over how glitter got sprinkled in the street.

    Never mind that old song that says “youth is wasted on the young” – with yoot like youse, ’tain’t so. As a friend of mine was once told by her mum, “These are your salad days – EAT!”

  9. 12 Monzi 29 May, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    Happy belated! and jealous of the shoes! if you want them to last longer you should try to buy a fixative from a craft store…might cost you like three to five bucks and it’ll give the shoes a longer lifeline…although you’ll regrettably lose the glitter trail :-(

  10. 13 Tina 1 June, 2011 at 2:37 am

    Happy birthday!

    The photo reminded me of my school days. There was a sculpture by Henry Moore in front of my school. I remenber,that was uncomfortable to recline on, too.

  11. 14 Val - Blog to be Alive 27 June, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    Happy belated birthday!

    That outfit is just awesome! It’s funny that you liked my sparkly shoes in my latest post, because I actually wanted the ones you have! Unfortunately they were a bit too expensive to import to Belgium.

    • 15 Frances 28 June, 2011 at 1:03 pm

      Thank you!

      I’m fairly certain I found these shoes because of a link you tweeted. Shipping was a bit exxy but there’s nothing like them here in Oz.

  12. 16 birdmonkey 31 July, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    I love this jumper with the shoes combo. The photos on the Henri Moore are fabulous!


Leave a Reply

No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 177 other followers

