OoTD No. 23 – YAY, IT’S WARM AGAIN

THE SUN AND I ARE BACK.

I know heaps of you get excited about autumn/winter fashion, and occasionally I also get suckered in by the coats and the scarves and the tights. But my flirtation with textures and layers never lasts; by the time the end of winter rolls around, I am pining for summer dresses and sandals and my tan.

Last weekend brought the first properly spring days I’ve had since I got home. I celebrated by having a barbecue brunch on the rooftop of the Glenmore Hotel, catching a ferry across the harbour to Watsons Bay and getting sunburnt on my shoulders. It was glorious.

Photobucket

The hat was an unexpected purchase. While I was overseas, my family (sister, brother-in-law and niece) and I had a week long holiday in a small Portuguese town called Quarteira. Despite us being there in the latter half of September, the sun was still seriously intense. I bought this hat from a little stall on the way to the local food market for the grand total of €10. Barry bargain.

I’d previously shied away from wide brim hats, which I now see was folly. This hat makes me feel very 70s glam, which I tried to enhance with my shapeless coral maxi and chunky (albeit ridiculous) wooden necklace.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Dress: Witchery - size L. Old collection.
Hat: A stall in Portugal
Necklace: Vintage from SHAG
Thongs: Havaianas. Currently available.

I am 1.72m/5’8″, 95kg/209lbs and I normally wear an Australian size 16/UK size 18/US size 14-16. My measurements are 107-99-120cm/42-39-47 inches.

I’ll be adding my height, weight and size info on all OoTD posts from now on. We have so little understanding of what sizes and weights actually look like, so this is me neutralising every aspect of my body.

9 Responses to “OoTD No. 23 – YAY, IT’S WARM AGAIN”


  1. 1 Sonya 20 October, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    omgggg I HAVE THAT DRESS I HAVEN’T WORN IT YET OMG. hahaha, I’m totally going to bring it to Sydney in December (IF I GO) and TWINS..

    I love the ridiculous necklace! I am still not quite ready to embrace summer yet though. Wah, heat.

    • 2 Frances 20 October, 2011 at 4:29 pm

      This was the first time I wore the dress! I bought it at the end-of-summer sales and had to store it almost immediately.

      We’ll wear matching dresses and drink matching cocktails and it will be ridiculous.

  2. 3 bloomie 20 October, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    Don’t you dare call that necklace ridiculous. It (and this whole damn look) are just utter fabulousity.

  3. 4 Jennifer Doherty (@Ilaeria) 20 October, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    I was going to ask if the dress was a recent purchase but it sounds not? Our measurements are pretty similar and I would never in a million years have set foot in a Witchery store because I just assumed they would have nothing to fit! Clearly I need to broaden my horizons! I am also another massive fan of that necklace.

    • 5 Frances 20 October, 2011 at 7:55 pm

      No, it’s last summer’s collection unfortunately.

      That’s another reason I wanted to list my height/weight/measurements – to show that sizing is pretty ridiculous. I don’t fit into most of Witchery’s stuff, but this dress is massively oversized. It’s worth doing the occasional scan of the racks in straight sized stores to find the odd plus-friendly gem.

  4. 6 mccxxiii 21 October, 2011 at 12:26 am

    Ooooh, I am so jealous!! Am in the U.S. here, and today was our first really chilly day … it’s just the beginning of the loooooooong slog through fall and winter, cold rain and snow, dark mornings and short days. That sweet springtime with bare arms and sun on the skin is so far away that it might as well not even exist. Wish I were there with you instead!

  5. 7 outcastspice (@outcastspice) 21 October, 2011 at 2:13 am

    you look great, and that’s a fantastic hat!

  6. 8 Veronica 26 October, 2011 at 11:45 pm

    Yay hat!! And I think adding your stats on your OOTD’s is a good move.

  7. 9 Zoe Amy (@MsZoeAmy) 19 November, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    Stunning outfit. I like that you post your stats, makes me feel more normal :) (As though normal is such a good thing).


Comments are currently closed.



No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

