OoTD No. 28 – Winter dressing, summer style

Though I love summer in Sydney, I am growing more appreciative of the cooler months. The air is fresh, my kitchen smells of roasts and stews and apple crumble, and I can wear something more substantial than thin cotton tops and double pluggers.

And it is starting to get quite wintery in Sydney, but that’s no reason to stop blinding people with summer-style colour.

My dear apple bag has been quite neglected of late, but after seeing Jackie’s amazing collection of bags that look like other things on Show Tell Share, I was inspired to dust it off.

I’m lightly obsessed with these ridiculous shirts. They were made by Mambo in the ’90s (before they decided to reinvent themselves as just another beige surf brand) in a bunch of iconic designs. The ones by Reg Mombassa – like this one – are just so wonderfully Australian. I’ve tracked down quite a few on ebay, and despite the shirts being something a middle aged man would wear to a barbecue, I love them dearly. They’re a summer staple, but when my wardrobe was particularly empty and my laundry pile was particularly big, I decided to winterise them with a natty bow tie and v-neck jumper.

Jumper: Second hand from Twirl Vintage Co – size M
Shirt: Mambo Loud Shirt via ebay – size M.
Jeans: Jay Jays – size 16. Old collection.
Shoes: Asos Marky Traditional Brogues – UK size 8. Similar styles available.
Bow tie: Asos. Old collection.
Bag: Mink Schmink. Old collection.

I am 1.72m/5’8″, 95kg/209lbs and I normally wear an Australian size 16/UK size 18/US size 14-16. My measurements are 107-99-120cm/42-39-47 inches.

18 Responses to “OoTD No. 28 – Winter dressing, summer style”


  1. 1 Sonya 20 May, 2012 at 10:15 pm

    We wear the same shoe size, cough cough. :P I love that jumper!

  2. 3 Valerie De Pever (@blogtobealive) 20 May, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    The first thing that popped into my mind after seeing this outfit was: Mika! lol I love it, it’s so colorful and that tshirt is awesome!

  3. 4 heartwoodjar 20 May, 2012 at 11:58 pm

    I love that you tracked down a loud shirt. I feel like every middle aged man wearing one of these was just an unfortunate precursor to you owning and wearing one.

  4. 6 omegafashionadjacent 21 May, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    I love the colour combo, I think this would brighten up even the greyest of days.. the apple bag is just super cute. :)

  5. 7 Lucy 21 May, 2012 at 8:23 pm

    OMG! I love your blog so much! Your style is just amazing and you are so beautiful! I am so going to read your whole blog!

  6. 9 bloomie 22 May, 2012 at 3:12 am

    What in the world are double pluggers?

    P.S. That shirt is awesomesauce!

  7. 12 friendlyadvice 22 May, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    I recently saw a re-run of Spicks and Specks, and Reg Mombassa was on the panel. He said he goes up to people in the street wearing those shirts and congratulates them on having the guts to wear them (he said he wouldn’t)! So you’ve officially got guts, Reg says so!

    I have never seen a Mambo shirt look so good. You’re working it!

    • 13 Frances 23 May, 2012 at 9:28 am

      Oh man, I would DIE if Reg Mombassa came up to me and said that. I went to the opening of one of his art exhibitions and he was there, but instead of talking to him like a normal person I just creeped around staring at him. Because I’m cool like that.

      • 14 friendlyadvice 23 May, 2012 at 6:00 pm

        LOL, he seems like a lovely guy, I am sure he would have appreciated your colourful clothing, the dedicated follower of fashion that he is. ;)

  8. 15 lilacsigil 24 May, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    I loved those shirts! I never found one to fit my hips, though, so I just bought them for my brother, who wears them around London to this day. He gets lots of compliments! And he’s a computer programmer, so he wears them to work 3 days a week, too – the other days have suit-wearing meetings.

  9. 16 JGRuddock 25 May, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    Oh Frances, NOW I know why I can never get my hands on a Mombassa-Mambo shirt – it’s that you got them all!! (Yeah, plus all the middle-aged men. But. Whatever.) *SUPER-DOOPER* snaps on the whole look, and please keep showing the collection: I love them! I only have a wee little singlet, but now I’ll get mine out for an outfit too – how fun!

    And next time I’m eyeing one on eBay I’ll let you know: I *hate* the thought of competing with mates for great Aussie shit like this… xo

    That Apple Purse is Nice. Very Nice.

  10. 17 Deena 31 July, 2012 at 1:41 pm

    I can’t tell you how much I love that shirt so I won’t even try.


  1. 1 ShowTellShare Two Hundred and Twenty-One | Jackie Ruddock Trackback on 9 October, 2013 at 9:02 am
Comments are currently closed.



No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

