Frances Lockie, published writer

Image

Check me out!

An exciting thing happened this week: Girlfriend, an Australian monthly magazine for teen girls aged 14 to 17 years of age, published a story on fat stigma. Even more exciting: I’m the one who wrote it!

Girlfriend has really cool, feminist editors; some of the stories they’ve featured in recent months include street harassment, transgenderism, and a critique of the idea of ‘real women’ (interspersed with posters of One Direction, naturally. SO GET OUT, GET OUT, GET OUT OF MY HEEEAAAAD AND FALL INTO MY ARMS INSTEEEAAAD…) They hold the young women of Australia in such high regard and I’m stoked to be published in their pages.

Click here to read the story.

13 Responses to “Frances Lockie, published writer”


  1. 1 K 25 November, 2012 at 2:10 am

    Congratulations! Great article, really relatable.

  2. 3 Selvinas 25 November, 2012 at 8:34 am

    Congratz!
    How did you get published? Did they approach you or did you just write the article and then gave them a call?

    • 4 Frances 25 November, 2012 at 9:57 am

      They approached me! The deputy editor used to be the online editor for Cosmo and I worked with her when I did some blogging for them (the links to those psots are on my Media page). She remembered me when she moved over the Girlfriend and they approached me to write a story on fat shaming.

  3. 6 modish maracas 25 November, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    Thanks for this! I’m a high school English teacher and I think I could use this in the classroom sometime.

  4. 8 Lauren 26 November, 2012 at 12:05 am

    This is awesome! So pleased your voice is getting out there :D x

  5. 9 NattieNell (@NattieNell) 27 November, 2012 at 9:53 am

    Well Done! What a great article. Just the sort of thing I needed to read at that age!

  6. 10 JGRuddock 29 November, 2012 at 5:21 pm

    Woot, woot! Well Done. And another *snaps* to Girlfriend, too. xo xo

  7. 11 chellesh0ck 31 December, 2012 at 1:45 am

    Oh no, why do I discover a fantastic blog late at night when I need to go to bed!?
    Don’t you worry, I’ll be back to read all of your previous posts … Thanks for some excellent writing
    xx Chelle


  1. 1 Friday Links, 11/30/12 « Tutus And Tiny Hats Trackback on 1 December, 2012 at 2:00 am

Leave a Reply

No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 181 other followers

