Archive for April 15th, 2013

OoTD No. 30 – My mad fat obsession

Have you experienced the glory that is My Mad Fat Diary yet? (If you haven’t, a wonderful person has uploaded all of season 1 on youtube. It’s only six episodes, so you can/should/will knock it over in a day.) MMFD is a British TV series set in Lincolnshire in 1996 that follows a fat, 16 year old girl named Rae as she tries to navigate friends, family, boys, and life outside the hospital after four months of psychiatric care. It’s hilarious, heartbreaking, sometimes triggering and is the best best best best best best best.

Sharon Rooney - who plays Rae - is spectacular and has the most wonderfully expressive face I’ve ever seen. The writers have captured the mindset of a 16 year old girl perfectly (which is perhaps unsurprising, given the show is based on real life Rae Earl’s real life diary); I see a lot of my teenage self in Rae, and going by the #mmfd tag on tumblr, so do many young women. On top of all that, one of the things I love most about the show and its popularity is the fact that a poor, fat, female protagonist is openly and vocally loved by the viewers.

Though Rae has severe body image problems, she is strong and resilient with an awesome sense of humour. She is comfortable with her teenage sex drive and she is attractive to boys. Not only that, she is attractive to objectively good-looking boys.  Not only that, but fans are ACTIVELY AND FEROCIOUSLY SHIPPING a fat character and her totally lush love interest. It’s bloody brilliant and I never thought I’d see the day. Well done, Shaz :)

ANYWAY, back to me. In the last month, my relationship with MMFD has gone from seen-a-few-gifs awareness to a full blown, all-consuming obsession. Like, to the point of reading fanfiction on tumblr. To the point of downloading the season 1 playlists and (re)acquainting myself with the awesomeness of Oasis, the Stone Roses, and early to mid-90s dance music. To the point of finally getting on the 90s revival bandwagon and hunting down the perfect chambray shirt (on its way from Asos to me as I type), the perfect leather backpack (search is ongoing), and the perfect platform sneakers:

DSCN2709

I AM LOVING MYSELF SICK RIGHT NOW.

I’ve been desperate for a pair of Buffalo platforms since the Spice Girls were at their peak (both in popularity and height, ba doom tish). All glory to Solestruck for letting me live out my pop starlet/club kid/giantess fantasies. And I am a deadset giantess in them. Normally I am around 5’8″ but in these babies I am at least 6′ tall. Not so long ago, I used to get self-conscious about my height and whenever I had to wear heels I would walk with a bit of a hunch to appear less domineering. Not anymore. I feel positively Amazonian. I feel like I could stomp on people. I am loving it.

The shoes arrived last week so of course I wanted to wear them out the first chance I got. Unfortunately, my first chance was dinner at a fancy restaurant so the accompanying outfit is not as loud and inappropriate as I would like (though I suppose it does draw attention to the shoes)…

DSCN2708

There’s room for improvement here, but this is a decent start.

Dress: Aje for Sportsgirl – size XL. Old collection.
Necklace: Sass & Bide. Old collection.
Shoes: Buffalo x Solestruck – size 10. Currently available.

I am 1.72m/5’8″, somewhere between 90 and 95kg/200 and 210lbs and I normally wear an Australian size 16/UK size 18/US size 14-16. My measurements are 107-96-114cm/42-38-45 inches.


No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 177 other followers