OoTD No. 32 – Smells Like Teen Spirit

I am officially writing to you from my late 20s, as on Wednesday, I turned the ripe old age of 27. Interestingly enough, when I was little this was the age at which I thought I’d be getting married and having babies. I don’t know why I picked this number in particular; ’27’ just sounded terribly mature. (In reality I live in sin with the Boyfriend, dress like a teenager, and forget to buy groceries every other week. SHOWS WHAT YOU KNOW, LITTLE FRANCES.)

To celebrate this momentous occasion, a bunch of mates and I went to a 90s-themed dance party called Teen Spirit, which is a ridiculous and amazing club night that I love with all my heart. Since I’m still firmly ensconced in my 90s obsession, I decided to dress the part.

DSCN2745

I can cross another item off my 90s extravaganza wishlist: I am now the owner of the PERFECT leather mini backpack.

I had forgotten how spacious these things are. This wee backpack is smaller than my handbag, but with its multitude of zips and hidden pockets, it fits just as much. I bloody love it… so much so that this cheap, tacky thing has replaced Marc Jacobs. I’m bringing ‘em back.

DSCN2747

And here is me and my outfit in action. The DJs played Pony and Ignition (Remix) and Common People and I shout sang and danced dirty and saw 18 years olds making out like their lives depended on it.

It was a spectacular night.

477930_10151485168972637_1152656927_o

Top: Worn By from Asos – size L. Currently available (and on sale!)
Shorts: Witchery – size 16. Old collection.
Stockings: Kayser Plus Fuller Figure Sheer Nylon Pantyhose from Myer – size 1 (supposedly equivalent to a size 18/20 but it fit size 16 me perfectly). Currently available.
Backpack: Second hand from GAMMAvintage
Shoes: Buffalo x Solestruck – size 10. Currently available.

I am 1.72m/5’8″, somewhere between 90 and 95kg/200 and 210lbs and I normally wear an Australian size 16/UK size 18/US size 14-16. My measurements are 107-96-114cm/42-38-45 inches.

7 Responses to “OoTD No. 32 – Smells Like Teen Spirit”


  1. 1 SarahSarah 24 May, 2013 at 1:52 am

    Those shoes are extraordinary!

  2. 2 theplussideofme 24 May, 2013 at 12:35 pm

    Love! Must say, your post about My Mad Fat Diary pushed me to watch it on YouTube. That show is a life changer! I’ve already watched all 6 episodes twice (in the matter of 4ish days), and I might have another round of it this weekend. Thank you for writing about it (and now living out my 90s dreams)!

  3. 4 Natalie 24 May, 2013 at 9:17 pm

    I love you. SO MUCH. /creepy. This outfit is just amazing and I want it, and i’m kind of raving like a fangirl, but this outfit is just perfection! Ah, yes, I seem to be in 90s fashion love affair.

  4. 6 JGRuddock 26 May, 2013 at 9:19 pm

    Happy Birthday, Gorgeous <3
    And on a technical point; how did you go dancing like a fiend in those shoes? 'Cause that photo on site looks like you're having an *ACE* time!! xo

    • 7 Frances 26 May, 2013 at 9:39 pm

      They were actually no trouble to dance in! Considering ravers used to dance in them while off their tits, I figured I was going to be ok. (I mainly dance from my hips, anyway, which probably helps…)


Leave a Reply

No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

