OoTD No. 33 – Girl gang

Another item crossed off my 90s wishlist: I now have a sick leather jacket to call my own.

(For those of you who are curious, these are the remaining items on the list: a denim jacket (preferably acid wash), a denim vest (ditto), some butterfly clips, maybe a pair of high top Chuck Taylors, maybe a pair of black Dr Martens. However, I am of course taking all good suggestions.)

DSCN2757

Jackets are usually my enemy. I have quite broad shoulders which are usually contricted in women’s jackets. The solution? A leather jacket from the men’s section of the shop. It fits my shoulders better than any other coat I’ve owned, I can zip it up AND it’s not stupidly cropped like so many jackets for women (perfect for when your chest is freezing but your midsection is burning up). The only downside is that I have to roll up the sleeves.

 DSCN2759

Wearing a leather jacket kind of makes me feel like I’m in a girl gang. Not an actual gang, mind you, more just looking good and loitering.

DSCN2754

 

Jacket: Second hand from Cream on King - size 40 (men’s)
Dress: Lazy Oaf – size L. Currently available.
Black skirt (worn underneath): Supre – size XL. Old collection.
Tights: We Love Colors Nylon/Lycra in neon green – size C/D. Currently available.
Sneakers: Converse Lady Weapon – UK size 8. Old collection.

I am 1.72m/5’8″, somewhere between 90 and 95kg/200 and 210lbs and I normally wear an Australian size 16/UK size 18/US size 14-16. My measurements are 107-96-114cm/42-38-45 inches.

12 Responses to “OoTD No. 33 – Girl gang”


  1. 1 Jaimielee 27 May, 2013 at 2:20 pm

    The rolled sleeves only add to the badassery of the jacket! To complete your 90’s wishlist I suggest mesh Chinese slippers. The 90’s was especially weird where I grew up…

    • 2 Frances 27 May, 2013 at 2:22 pm

      Oh, I remember them! I remember there was a spell in early high school when every girl was wearing them. Then my mum bought a pair, so there was no way I was going to wear them.

  2. 3 sleepydumpling 27 May, 2013 at 6:33 pm

    I think you need some crushed velvet in the 90’s wardrobe. Particularly if it is a very long skirt with flared hemline or a babydoll dress.

  3. 6 Emma Wright/Pseudo-Functional 27 May, 2013 at 8:13 pm

    Frances is a babe!! Also, one of those weird plastic knit-choker things; a “Rachel” haircut; a crop top and velvet anything; and a shag-pile jacket aka. Baby Spice.

  4. 8 outcastspice (@outcastspice) 28 May, 2013 at 12:22 am

    The jacket looks great on you! I need a good leather jacket also, actually. You can probably get the sleeves shortened at a good tailor (or even a dry cleaner may have a tailor they use for alterations) and that sort of thing is usually inexpensive.

    • 9 Frances 28 May, 2013 at 12:30 am

      Thanks! Unfortunately it’s a typical biker jacket sleeve (like this)… the experience I’ve had with tailors is that the price gets steep once they need to navigate trick seams. I’m happy with cuffing for now.

  5. 10 thecuteinexecute 28 May, 2013 at 7:49 am

    Ooooh rad. I would have loved a cropped biker jacket, but you’re right, they can be kinda impractical so I’m happy with the one I got. Also, you make me wanna give tights another chance… that’s real cruel of you.

    • 11 Frances 28 May, 2013 at 9:22 am

      Sorry! The We Love Colors tights are pretty good. I get about a year’s worth of solid wear out of them and they don’t fall down. (They wouldn’t stand up to a Finnish winter, though.)

      • 12 thecuteinexecute 29 May, 2013 at 1:24 am

        I know. I’d try them if Europe got those free shipping deals AU/NZ seems to get once a year :( 15$ for shipping on top of 15-17$ for the actual tights is just too much when you’re poor and don’t know if they are gonna work out. Baww.


Comments are currently closed.



No Diet Talk

Subscribe to Corpulent

Categories

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

